Developed in conjunction with ATLA, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials to African American religious life and culture.
Contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president. Contents include memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, and more.
Comprising various Staff and Office files from the Bush Presidency, this collection includes incoming letters, memoranda, reports, and printed material detailing routine correspondence from organizations such as the Environment Defense Fund, the Clean Air Working Group, the Utility Air Regulatory Group, National Environmental Development Association, American Paper Institute/National Forest Products Association, and the National Association of Manufacturers supporting or opposing specific provisions of the CAAA.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the French colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the German colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native people.
Provides largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history as well as a window into the development of America's first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus.
Consists of correspondence, transcripts, legal briefs, and printed materials, including several hundred case files and publications produced and received by the Civil Rights Congress, which was established in 1946.
Includes essential materials for the study of early development of the Civil Rights Movement and provides insight into FDR's political style and presents an instructive example of how he balanced moral preferences with political realities.
Contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set as well as thousands of scholarly journals,, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, presidential documents, and more.
Contains extensive FBI documentation on Meredith's battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Serves as a companion to Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918 and consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by American diplomats, as well as records of American citizens and companies with relations to Liberia.
Consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States’ diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian
government and people.
Consists of memorandums, letters, cables, balance sheets, reports, exhibits, newspaper clippings, and civil censorship intercepts on the financing of the German war effort and German financial institutions; reports on Nazi gold, the use of Swiss banks, and links between German and Swiss banks and more.
To access The New York Times In Education site, College of Charleston students, faculty and staff, click the link above and complete the short Registration Form using their CofC email address. Once registered, they have access to The New York Times In Education (nytimes.com/edu) which includes discipline-specific areas of study, classroom discussion prompts, suggested learning outcomes, and more.
To access The New York Times Online, College of Charleston students, faculty and staff must create an account by clicking the link above, searching for and selecting "College of Charleston" from the list, clicking "Create Account" and completing the registration using their CofC email address, and finally, verifying their accounts through the confirmation email sent by The New York Times. Once registered and verified, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times Online (NYTimes.com), including the archives (dating back to 1851), podcasts, newsletters, videos and more.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Collections are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and include monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Current archives available for College of Charleston Libraries include British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture and Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925.
Consists of index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia.
Consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka and were gathered by Dr. Komozi Woodard in the course of his research. Includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, as well as some personal records.
Provides a unique look into the creation and activities of the temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by federal judges from the district courts and courts of appeals, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations.
Includes transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing,for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Provides correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.
To access the Wall Street Journal Online, College of Charleston students, faculty and staff must activate their complimentary memberships by clicking the link above and creating an account with their CofC email address on the registration page. Once registered and verified, they can access the Wall Street Journal Online (WSJ.com), WSJ mobile apps, newsletters and podcasts.
Those who currently pay for an existing membership may call
1-800-JOURNAL and mention they are switching to their subscription provided by the College of Charleston.
Details the Freedom Rides, which began the May 5, 1961, to challenge the status quo by riding various forms of public transportation in the South to challenge local laws or customs that enforced segregation.