Skip to main content

African American Studies: Web Resources

This guide will lead you to print and electronic resources in African American Studies.

Umbra Search: African American History

Umbra Search African American History brings together more than 500,000 digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country, making African American history more broadly accessible.

Searching the Web

Why should I use Web sites?

  • Web sites are a great source of information about organizations and institutions and government generated statistics and reports.
  • They are also useful for comparing popular perceptions to scientific research findings. The free Web contains a vast collection of resources - some worthwhile

How do I find good Web sites?

Start by reviewing the Web Searching Guide for expert advice on the best search engines--both general and specialized.

Of particular note are the "academic web resources" which includes a link to Google Scholar and other search engines that focus on, credible, scholarly information available on the Web.

note: no single search engine comes close to indexing all of the Web. Be sure to search two or three different search engines if you want to be thorough.

For every major, most minors, and other special topics, librarians have put together a subject guide with links to quality sites (near the bottom of the guide).

For quick and mainly free Web-based reference information such as encyclopedias, check out the on-line reference page.

Web Resources

African Americans and South Carolina
A growing list of links and other information concerning the role of African Americans in South Carolina from the University of South Carolina -- Aiken.

The Church in the Southern Black Community
Covers the development and expansion of Southern black churches, beginning with white churches' conversion efforts during the post-Revolutionary period and closes with early twentieth-century assessments of black scholars on the Church's role in American history and society. Excellent source of primary documents.

DuSable Museum of African American History

 

This Chicago museum was "established to preserve and interpret the histroical experiences and achievements of African Americans."

From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 (Full Text)
396 pamphlets published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.

National Museum of African American History and Culture -- Smithsonian 
Information on major Smithsonian programs related to African and African American issues and resources.


The African Studies Center at the University of Pennsylvania
The African Studies Center at the University of Pennsylvania is recognized as a vital and forward-looking center where researchers, students and cultural and business entities come to gain knowledge of contemporary and historical Africa.

Howard University
Links to African American Studies resources.

Public Historian

Barrye Brown's picture
Barrye Brown
Contact:
Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture
125 Bull St.
Charleston, SC 29424
843-953-7608