Skip to main content

Marine Biology: Find Articles

This guide includes selected print and electronic books, journals, and databases as well as web resources in the field of marine biology.

Tools to Know About

  • Citation databases - Often discipline specific, like ASFA and Zoological Record, or broader in scope like Web of Science. They describe articles using indexing terminology and article abstracts. These databases are the premier place to discover quality articles and usually have comprehensive searching features. See Link Resolver for accessing full text.
  • Full text databases/publisher platforms - Often broad in scope, like Academic Search Complete or ScienceDirect (Elsevier publisher platform) or discipline specific like American Chemical Society journals. These databases offer full text access to subscribed content. Not all content is guaranteed to be available in full text.
  • Discover - A one-stop search tool found on the library home page search platform for finding information across all of our online and print resources. Not a bad place to do an initial search, but like trawling with a small-mesh net you'll catch a lot of everything! Use abstract/index database for more precise search strategies.
  • E-journal Finder - Found on the library home page search platform. If you wish to view a specific e-journal, use the e-journal finder to search for the journal by name and identify online access points.
  • Link Resolver - Branded as Find at CofC the link resolver will help you identify full text access points when you are in a citation database, or Google Scholar (if you've configured Library Links in Scholar). It also offers you pre-populated Interlibrary Loan request forms when we need to get you the item from another library. Look for the Find at CofC link in your search results or individual article records.

Evaluating Sources

Quick Tips

Citation Databases

Citation databases are the best place to discover quality research articles. These databases, either broad in scope like Web of Science or more specific like Zoological Record and ASFA, offer you useful features to help you hone a strategic search. While these databases often do not contain the full text articles themselves, you can use the Find at CofC link to launch over to the full text wherever it is located, or to the Interlibrary Loan service to issue a request.

 

Full Text Databases

Off Campus Access

 

Use the same logon name and password that you use for your College of Charleston email account.

Your logon name is what comes before the @g.cofc.edu in your e-mail address.

Do NOT use the @g.cofc.edu as part of your username.

Troubleshooting

If you are having problems with off-campus access, you might need to reset your password.
To do this, go to MyCharleston.  Click on the "Forget Password" link and you will prompted to change your password after you answer the security questions.