Skip to main content

Marine Biology: Web Resources

This guide includes selected print and electronic books, journals, and databases as well as web resources in the field of marine biology.

Digital Libraries and Repositories

NOAA Institutional Repository
The National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration's digital library contains NOAA publications from numerous subsets of NOAA, including the National Ocean Service and National Marine Fisheries Service. Includes technical reports and memoranda.

National Sea Grant Library
The NSGL is the digital library for NOAA’s Sea Grant documents.  It includes numerous subjects including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law. 

Aquatic Commons
This digital repository covers the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments. It includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects.

HaithiTrust Digital Library
This collection contains digitized titles held by academic and research institutions globally. It covers most disciplines and is particularly useful for accessing older works, especially those out of copyright.

Where to Look for More

Use the tabs above to find more resources on this topic.  Click on the links below to visit resource guides in specific areas of marine science.

Select Web Resources Related to Marine Biology

Web Resources

Searching the Web

Why should I use web sites?

  • Web sites are a great source of information about organizations and institutions and government generated statistics and reports.
  • They are also useful for comparing popular perceptions to scientific research findings. The free web contains a vast collection of resources - some worthwhile.

How do I find good web sites?

Start by reviewing the Web Searching Guide for expert advice on the best search engines--both general and specialized.
Of particular note are the "academic web resources" which includes a link to Google Scholar and other search engines that focus on, credible, scholarly information available on the Web.

note: no single search engine comes close to indexing all of the Web. 

For every major, most minors, and other special topics, librarians have put together a subject guide with links to quality sites (look for a Web Resources page).