Skip to main content

Faculty Services: Media Services

This guide is a resource listing the various library services available to faculty.

Placing Media on Reserve

Faculty members may place video and DVD titles from the media collection on reserve at the Access & Instruction Desk for students to view in the library. To place a video or DVD on reserve a faculty member must bring the video title to the Access & Instruction Desk or ask the Circulation staff to obtain the video from our collection and fill out the “Reserve Request” form. For information on types of reserves available, please see the Access & Instruction Desk reserve services. For questions you may call the Access & Instruction Desk at (843) 953-8001.

Reserve items are removed from the shelves and placed in the reserve stacks behind the Access & Instruction Desk and are indicated as such in the on-line catalog.  Students wishing to view a video or DVD that is on reserve must check it out from the Access & Instruction Desk (for in-library use for 4 hours). DVDs can be viewed on any computer in the library. VHS tapes may be viewed in the area behind the Access & Instruction Desk or on viewing stations in the computer lab.

Media Collections

All videos in the media collection are in the library catalog. You may search just the media collection by limiting your search to “Media Collection.” This is done from the “limit by” button at the bottom of the main catalog screen.

Please note that a title may be “available” in the catalog, but in a stage of processing and temporarily unavailable. So, it is always a good idea to call ahead to see if a video is actually available at the library, before making a trip or a request. You may call or email Jared Seay directly (843.953.1428 or seayj@cofc.edu) or call the Infodesk (843.953.8000) to make such an inquiry. 

College of Charleston faculty, staff and students who present a current College of Charleston ID card may check- out a maximum of 3 videos at any one time for a maximum of  3 days.

Faculty members  from other institutions may not check out Media Collections materials, though they may view the materials within Media Collections during normal business hours.

For details on the Addlestone Library borrowing loan periods (please see library borrowing policies.)

Streaming Services

Video Streaming

Our video streaming services include Academic Video Online (aka VAST) from Alexander Street Press, Films on Demand from Films Media Group (aka: Films for the Sciences and Humanities) , Kanopy, Met Opera and Killing Us Softly 4 (which can be directly streamed from on campus).  Though each services offers its own unique topics and capabilities, these services access thousands of videos from a variety of sources including documentaries, newsreels, television specials, and internet videos (ex: TED videos). 

Subjects cover a wide range including (but not restricted to) history, business, philosophy, sociology, psychology, technology and education.  These services allow the user to organize videos and segments into folders and playlists and favorites and can be embedded in OAKS coursepages or websites.  This allows specific titles or groups of segments (chapters within a title) to be reorganized and purposed for specific class projects or research needs.   Each video can be viewed in multiple choices of quality (screen size) for both desktop and projection.  Most titles contain searchable / downloadable transcripts that allow more precise searching and documentation.

These services can be accessed by students and faculty from their alphabetical link in the Databases section of the Addlestone Library website or by using the links below.

Audio Streaming

The library now subscribes to the Naxos Music Library, an online collection of recorded music in streaming audio– primarily classical music, plus smaller collections of world music and jazz. Naxos contains 550,000 tracks from over 35,000 CDs.  The collection is fully searchable and has sections divided by such criteria as composer, genere, label, new releases,and a junior section. Includes playlists, study area, and resources.

Classical Music Library Over 30,000 classical music tracks with 2,000 more added each month. This service also includes thousands of program notes and hundreds of playlists. Please exit database when finished. Our license is for three users at a time.

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Global Sound
With nearly 3,000 albums and more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is the largest and most comprehensive streaming audio collection of world music. Access is provided to the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added.

Link to databases section of Addlestone Library.

 

Group Viewing Rooms

There are several rooms in the library that are available for video viewing.  Room 326 will seat 10 - 15,  and the study rooms which set 5-6 can accommodate video equipment on mobile carts. There are also VHS players for individual viewing located on the first floor to the left of the Access & Instruction Desk along the Coming Street wall.