Skip to main content

Japanese Studies: Find Books

Subjects & Call Numbers

It can be useful to browse the book collection to get ideas for your research, or just for fun.Remember to use the tabs at the top of this page or contact the reference librarian if you need help narrowing or targeting your search. Asking for help SAVES YOU TIME!

  • Addlestone Book Stacks are located on the 2nd floor.

 


 

Books by Call Number

Books located on the second floor

Find Books

 

Keywords are the most important words in your concept. They are more specific than natural language. For instance, if you want to find out about the Japanese movie industry, try keywords Japan AND movies.

It can be useful to browse the book collection to get ideas for your research, or just for fun.Remember to use the tabs at the top of this page or contact the reference librarian if you need help narrowing or targeting your search. Asking for help SAVES YOU TIME!

Japan, Business Communication

Japanese culture and communication : critical cultural analysis, by Ray T. Donahue.
Lanham : University Press of America, c1998.
 C of C Book Stacks      P94.65.J3 D67 1998

Japan, History

A companion to Japanese history, edited by William M. Tsutsui, Blackwell Pub., 2007.
 C of C Book Stacks      DS835 .C65 2007

Japanese history & culture from ancient to modern times : seven basic bibliographies, John W. Dower. Publishers International Corporation for Japan, c1986.
 C of C Book Stacks      DS835D61986

Japan, Language Learning

The Japanese language : an introduction, by A.E. Backhouse.
Melbourne ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, c1993.
C of C Book Stacks      PL539.3 .B33 1993

Linguistic creativity in Japanese discourse: exploring the multiplicity of self, perspective, and voice, by Senko K. Maynard. Philadelphia : J. Benjamins Pub. Co., c2007. Electronic resource.

Japan, Literature

The Columbia anthology of modern Japanese literature,  edited by J. Thomas Rimer and Van C. Gessel.
New York, N.Y. : Columbia University Press, c2005-c2007.
 C of C Book Stacks      PL782.E1 C55 2005  V.1, V.2    

Traditional Japanese literature : an anthology, beginnings to 1600, edited with introductions and commentary by Haruo Shirane ; translators, Sonja Arntzen ... [et al.].
New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
C of C Book Stacks      PL782.E1 T73 2007

Japanese literature reviewed, by Donald Richie ; with an introduction by J. Thomas Rimer.New York ; Tokyo : ICG Muse, Inc., c2003.
C of C Book Stacks      PL717 .R58 2003

E-Book Databases

  • ebrary (Full Text)  A collection of over 27,000 electronic books covering all subject areas.
  • EBSCO ebooks collection (Full Text)  Over 14,500 electronic books for searching and reading. 
  • Google Book Search (Full Text)  Over 10,000 full text books many of which are older and no longer copyrighted. Limited access to almost 100,000 additional works. To limit your search to full text click "Full view books". Click here