Trial databases are listed to the right of our Databases A-Z list. Feel free to try them out and provide us with feedback through the trial database evaluation form.
Spotlight: Faculty Publications
San Miguel de Allende
by Lisa Pinley Covert
Call Number: F1391.S2 C68 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Struggling to free itself from a century of economic decline and stagnation, the town of San Miguel de Allende, nestled in the hills of central Mexico, discovered that its "timeless" quality could provide a way forward. While other Mexican towns pursued policies of industrialization, San Miguel--on the economic, political, and cultural margins of revolutionary Mexico--worked to demonstrate that it preserved an authentic quality, earning designation as a "typical Mexican town" by the Guanajuato state legislature in 1939. With the town's historic status guaranteed, a coalition of local elites and transnational figures turned to an international solution--tourism--to revive San Miguel's economy and to reinforce its Mexican identity.
Welcome to your guide for everything Collection Development at the College of Charleston Libraries.
We are part of the Collection & Content Services department, and we are here for you as you seek to purchase materials such as books, ebooks, DVDs, journals, ejournals, and any other resources that will help support your teaching and research.
If you're looking for your library subject liaison, click on this link and use the dropdown menu to select your discipline. Click your liaison's photo for contact information.
What Does it All Mean?
Firm orders - These are orders for specific titles that are paid for out of each department's individual budget. Titles are selected by departmental faculty and submitted to library liaisons, who then approve the purchase and submit to the Acquisitions Manager, who places the orders with the vendor. Visit the Firm Orders tab for more detailed information.
Shelf-ready approval - The shelf-ready approval plan is a service provided by YBP in which materials are automatically selected for inclusion in our collection. Approval plan titles are received by the library on a weekly basis. Visit the Shelf-Ready Approval tab for more detailed information.
Journals & Databases - Staff can request databases and serials to be included in our collection. Database and serial requests are reviewed by a committee once a year and are evaluated for quality and appropriateness for our collection.