Skip to main content

Digital Humanities: Tools & Tutorials

Resources for teaching and scholarship in the field of digital humanities.

@CofC Libraries: Tutorials, Workshops & Guides

Visit the "How-To" Research Guides for tutorials and classroom resources on specific digital scholarship topics and tools.

Subscribe to the "Library Workshops" blog for news, upcoming workshops, and events.

Tools

From Josh Honn's "Tools and Resources" from A Guide to Digital Humanities.

DH Research Tools: Creative Commons by Flickr User DML Competition

Tool Directories

New & Popular Digital Tools by Type

Online Tutorials

Getting Started

  • Intro to Digital Humanities- DH 101Based on the Introduction to Digital Humanities (DH101) course at UCLA, taught by Johanna Drucker (with David Kim) in 2011 and 2012, this online coursebook (and related collection of resources) is meant to provide introductory materials to digital approaches relevant to a wide range of disciplines. The lessons and tutorials assume no prior knowledge or experience and are meant to introduce fundamental skills and critical issues in digital humanities.--website description.
  • Tooling up for the Digital Humanities: Web site collaboration between the Spatial History Project and the Computer Graphics Lab at Stanford University provides a gateway for scholars with minimal exposure to digital methodology but who are interested in exploring the field of digital humanities. Topics include online presence, digitization, text analysis, spatial analysis, databases, pedagogy, and data visualization.
  • 23 Things for Research: An independent learning online course intended for members of the University of Oxford interested in using digital communication tools to improve and extend their professional skills. You can read more about the programme here. If you are not a member of the University, you are welcome to participate in the program, but you can not get support from the University of Oxford staff.

Metadata

  • What is metadata? A Christmas themed exploration An easy to read and understand post by Bonnie Swoger that defines what metadata is, how it is used, and how to create it.
  • Understanding Metadata: Published by NISO, this concise resource defines metadata, explains the purpose of metadata, and provides an overview of metadata schemes including Dublin Core, TEI and METS, MODS, among others.  The guide also provides an explanation of creating metadata, discusses metadata interoperability and includes a wealth of additional resources.

Curation

  • DH Curation Guide: Intended to help students and those new to the field, the DH Curation Guide provides a quick reference for teachers, administrators, and anyone seeking an orientation in the issues and practicalities of data curation. The guide offers concise, expert introductions to key topics, including annotated links to important standards, articles, projects, and other resources.

Coding & Markup Languages

 

  • W3C Web Education Community Group WikiA series of tutorial articles covering web design and development high level concepts, and essential technologies such as HTML, CSS and JavaScript.
  • CSU Northridge Digital Humanities Tutorials: Includes two tutorials, (X)HTML and CSS and Textual Markup and the Study of Literature used in Scott Kleinman's course on The Technology of Textuality (ENGL 630TT) at California State University, Northridge and Mark LeBlanc's course on Computing for Poets (COMP 131) at Wheaton College.
  • Teach Yourself TEI from the Text Encoding Initiative provides introductory readings, manuals and tutorials based on projects developed by the TEI community as well as a link to the TEI Projects Page. 

Geospatial: Digital Mapping and GIS Skills

The Geospatial Historian is a tutorial-based open access textbook, modeled on the Programming Historian, designed to teach humanists practical digital mapping and GIS skills that are immediately useful to real research needs. Four introductory lessons to HGIS methods are provided using open source platforms like Google Maps and Quantum GIS.  The Geospatial Historian is currently looking for more contributions on intermediate and advanced HGIS methods.

Lessons

Programming Languages

Web Publishing