Here are Top Five Most Common Types of Plagiarism. For more on plagiarism, visit http://www.plagiarism.org/plagiarism-101/what-is-plagiarism
*This can be your own work, too! Avoid copying one's own work from a previous publication or assignment without indicating that it was a previous work.
Types of Plagiarism (n.d.). Web. 20 August, 2014. <http://www.plagiarism.org/plagiarism-101/types-of-plagiarism/>.
source: woodleywonderworks. (n.d.) Duplicate original. https://www.flickr.com/photos/wwworks/6305470569
According to the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, to "plagiarize" means
In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward.
What is Plagiarism? (n.d.). Web.20 August, 2014. <http://www.plagiarism.org/plagiarism-101/what-is-plagiarism/>.
When you quote or paraphrase another person's idea in your research paper or creative product , it is imperative that you provide a proper citation to the source you used:
..to avoid plagiarism (presenting someone else's ideas as your own is a violation of the Honor Code)
..to give credit to the author of the idea
..to allow someone else to locate the source
..to lend credibility to your work
...to participate fully in the scholarly conversation
Plagiarism.org provides an excellent definition of plagiarism and gives useful examples.
What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography gives an account of the research that has been done on a given topic. Like any bibliography, an annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of research sources. In addition to bibliographic data, an annotated bibliography provides a concise summary of each source and some assessment of its value or relevance. Depending on your assignment, an annotated bibliography may be one stage in a larger research project, or it may be an independent project standing on its own.
Definition source: Knott, D. (n.d.) Writing an Annotated Bibliography. University of Toronto, New College Writing Centre. Web. 20 August, 2014. < http://www.writing.utoronto.ca/advice/specific-types-of-writing/annotated-bibliography>
This guide is modeled on the research guide
Citing Sources & Avoiding Plagiarism from Stevens Institute of Technology. Permission granted on August 19, 2014 by
Samuel C. Williams Library
Stevens Institute of Technology
Castle Point on Hudson
Hoboken, New Jersey 07030
Reference management tools can save you time and make your research and writing time more efficient. Reference management tools are online tools that help you organize your references and cite your sources easily and quickly.