The College of Charleston Special Collections and South Carolina Historical Society's holdings do well to represent the various eras and events that constitute the long and complicated history of Agriculture in South Carolina and elsewhere. A diverse range of materials– including reference resources, rare books, manuscript materials, pamphlets, digitized collections and items–may be viewed at your convenience.
The aim of this guide aid in searching through our collections and to reveal some examples of the variety of materials we have on agriculture.
Special Collections is located on the third floor of the Addlestone Library and research hours are from 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.
Finding Agriculture resources in our catalog:
It is rare for a single subject or keyword search to successfully pull up every resource available at the College of Charleston Libraries on a given topic. Be prepared to conduct several different searches using the online catalog.
South Carolina Agriculture
Agriculture -- Southern States
Agriculture -- South Carolina -- Statistics -- Periodicals
Forests and forestry
Try to avoid being too specific when keyword searching. Sometimes the popular or alternative name for an individual, object, etc. is not the authorized name used in the catalog and will therefore not return some valuable resources to you. Be creative when searching and try to find the authorized name for whatever subject that interests you.
Popular name: S.C. Agriculture
Authorized name: South Carolina Agriculture
Popular name: The woods
Authorized name: Forests and forestry
Popular name: Ruffin
Authorized name: Ruffin, Edmund, 1794-1865
From the library homepage, click the Classic Catalog link:
Once you arrive at the Classic Catalog page, click on the Collection dropdown menu:
And select Special Collections & SC Historical Society:
You may now search as usual, but the results will only yield items found in Special Collections & SC Historical Society.
Best of luck in your searching and please feel welcome to contact us at Special Collections if you need any further assistance.