Skip to main content

Family History and Genealogy: Welcome

Welcome

GENEALOGY RESEARCH:

This guide is by no means an exhaustive list of resources for genealogical research. The goal here is to highlight the genealogy-related resources available in the Special Collections and the South Carolina Historical Society Archives and to make researchers aware of many free online websites.

Decide what you need to learn:

  • Born?
  • Place?
  • Married?
  • Place?
  • Died?
  • Place?

Pick one of a "person of interest" and try to identify needed information (document pertinent information on other relatives/historical figures as you find it).

Hours and Location

Hours:
Monday – Friday
9:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Mailing Address:
Special Collections
College of Charleston Library
66 George Street
Charleston, SC 29424

Physical Address:
205 Calhoun Street (map)
Charleston, SC 29401
Third Floor

Phone:
(843) 953-8016

Addlestone Library - Third Floor

Searching Special Collections & SC Historical Society

From the library homepage, click the Classic Catalog link:

Once you arrive at the Classic Catalog page, click on the Collection dropdown menu:

And select Special Collections & SC Historical Society:

You may now search as usual, but the results will only yield items found in Special Collections & SC Historical Society.

Best of luck in your searching and please feel welcome to contact us at Special Collections if you need any further assistance.

Archivist

Mary Jo Fairchild's picture
Mary Jo Fairchild
Contact:
843-953-8016
Website / Blog Page