Skip to main content

Citing Sources & Avoiding Plagiarism: How (and Why) to Avoid Plagiarism

Examples of plagiarism

Here are Top Five Most Common Types of Plagiarism. For more on plagiarism, visit http://www.plagiarism.org/plagiarism-101/what-is-plagiarism

  • Clone: Submitting another’s work, word-for-word, as one’s own
  • CTRL-C: Contains significant portions of text from a single source without alterations
  • Find - Replace:  Changing key words and phrases but retaining the essential content of the source
  • Remix: Paraphrases from multiple sources, made to fit together
  • Recycle:  Borrows generously from the writer’s previous work without citation*

 

*This can be your own work, too! Avoid copying one's own work from a previous publication or assignment without indicating that it was a previous work.

Types of Plagiarism (n.d.). Web. 20 August, 2014. <http://www.plagiarism.org/plagiarism-101/types-of-plagiarism/>.

Plagiarism tutorials and information

Help

Services

What is plagiarism? Why should I cite sources?

duplicate original

source: woodleywonderworks. (n.d.) Duplicate original. https://www.flickr.com/photos/wwworks/6305470569

 

According to the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, to "plagiarize" means

  • to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own
  • to use (another's production) without crediting the source
  • to commit literary theft
  • to present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source.

In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward.

What is Plagiarism? (n.d.). Web.20 August, 2014. <http://www.plagiarism.org/plagiarism-101/what-is-plagiarism/>.


When you quote or paraphrase another person's idea in your research paper or creative product , it is imperative that you provide a proper citation to the source you used:


..to avoid plagiarism (presenting someone else's ideas as your own is a violation of the Honor Code)
..to give credit to the author of the idea
..to allow someone else to locate the source
..to lend credibility to your work
...to participate fully in the scholarly conversation

Plagiarism.org provides an excellent definition of plagiarism and gives useful examples.

Related reading

Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography gives an account of the research that has been done on a given topic. Like any bibliography, an annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of research sources. In addition to bibliographic data, an annotated bibliography provides a concise summary of each source and some assessment of its value or relevance. Depending on your assignment, an annotated bibliography may be one stage in a larger research project, or it may be an independent project standing on its own.

Definition source: Knott, D. (n.d.) Writing an Annotated Bibliography. University of Toronto, New College Writing Centre. Web. 20 August, 2014. < http://www.writing.utoronto.ca/advice/specific-types-of-writing/annotated-bibliography>

 

Source of this Research Guide

This guide is modeled on the research guide  

Citing Sources & Avoiding Plagiarism from Stevens Institute of Technology. Permission granted on August 19, 2014 by 

Linda Beninghove
Interim Director
Samuel C. Williams Library
Stevens Institute of Technology
Castle Point on Hudson
Hoboken, New Jersey 07030
201-216-5412
linda.beninghove@stevens.edu

Thank You!

Reference Librarian

Jannette Finch's picture
Jannette Finch
Contact:
College of Charleston North Campus

3800 Paramount Dr.

North Charleston, SC 29405
843-953-2766
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Plagiarism Addressed in CofC Student handook

Source: College of Charleston Student Handbook: A Guide to Civil and Honorable Conduct, 2014-2015 (p. 10)

6. Plagiarism:

6.1. The verbatim repetition, without acknowledgement, of the writings of another author. All significant phrases,
clauses, or passages, taken directly from source material must be enclosed in quotation marks and acknowledged in
the text itself and/or in footnotes/endnotes.
6.2. Borrowing without acknowledging the source.
6.3. Paraphrasing the thoughts of another writer without acknowledgement.
6.4. Allowing any other person or organization to prepare work which one then submits as his/her own.

Citing tools and reference management

Reference management tools can save you time and make your research and writing time more efficient.  Reference management tools are online tools that help you organize your references and cite your sources easily and quickly.