Journals in this Subject
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art History   Tags: art, art_criticism, art_history, arts  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/arthistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

Services

 

Did we help?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Recommended Resources

  • ARTstor (Full Text)
    A collection of over 300,000 images which documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures. The focus of the collection includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
  • Art Full Text
    Formerly Art Index, this database indexes more than 400 art and architecture publications from English-language periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and some European periodicals. Indexing from 1984; abstracts from 1994; select full text from 1997. Serves as a comprehensive record of reproductions of works of art that appear anywhere in any of the indexed publications; note use of "il." to denote availability of illustrations. Often titles of reproduced works are included in notes field.
  • CAMIO
    OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Online version of the 34-volume text covering all forms of the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images. NOTE: Only one user at a time can access this database.
  • JSTOR (Full Text)
    Full-text archive of important scholarly journal literature. Check "history" and/or "african american studies" on the search screen.
  • Infotrac Academic OneFile (Full Text)
    A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, OneFile is authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
 

Art History at the College of Charleston

Art history is the study of the world’s visual heritage in the context of social, cultural, and intellectual history. The interdisciplinary nature of art history touches on all aspects of human culture, and provides a window into diverse visual phenomena, from prehistoric cave painting to contemporary cyber environments.

(Taken from the Art History Department website at the College of Charleston)


Much of your research will involve images. Use ARTStor or visit the other databases listed under the tab, "Find Articles" or listed on the Welcome Page. Many of the databases listed also provide images in your search results. Look for ways to restrict your search to images in each database or contact your librarian for help in searching for images.

Find more art images under "Web Resources."

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Josh Minor

Suggest a Website

Help others by sharing what you know.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip