This is the "Welcome" page of the "Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English and foreign literature resources.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

Services

Literature...

"Literature—the most seductive, the most deceiving, the most dangerous of professions."

--Viscount Morely John, (1838 - 1923)

Recommended Resources

  • MLA International Bibliography
    The definitive guide to literary criticism. Articles, books, and chapters in books. From 1920's to the present. Updated 10 times per year. Provides some links to full text articles.
  • JSTOR
    Go to the advanced search and check "language & literature" from the search screen. Remember, JSTOR only offers older articles from a limited, but quality, list of journals.
  • PAO - Periodicals Archive Online (Full Subscription)
    Like JSTOR, this one only has older articles but contains some valuable stuff.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Be careful with this one. It provides online access to canned criticism -- mainly excerpts from actual journal articles and books. Many profs do not allow you to cite this directly but it can lead you to the real stuff.
  • Academic Search Complete
    The old stand by. Be sure to check the box for "Scholarly 'peer reviewed' Journals" to ensure that you get high quality articles.
  • Early English Books Online
    Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
 

Where to Look for More...

This guide is designed to bring together all literature related library resources into one place including: articles/library databases, books, encyclopedias, web resources, and more. See tabs above.

Feel free to contact me for help or for any comments regarding this guide.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Burton Callicott
Contact Info
rm 101 "Reference Office"
843.953.0016
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip