Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Literature  Tags: literature english literary criticism poetry fiction language semiotics  

English and foreign literature resources.
Last update: Sep 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias and more             Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedia notes

Though you generally don't cite encyclopedias in research papers, they can:

  • provide great background information
  • lead you to books and articles that you can cite
  • help you narrow and focus your topic

Don't be afraid of the actual print, non-web, reference encyclopedias!

 

Reference reference reference

  • Oxford Reference Online: Literature  
      
    Search and access the full text of a suite of Oxford reference books including The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, and many more.
  • Scribner Writers Series  
      
    Contains lengthy essays on the lives and works of about 1,600 important authors from around the world.
  • What Do I Read Next?  
      
    Like a particular novel, poem, etc? This resource will help you find more like it.
  • Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    The whole OED online!
  • Reference Universe  
      
    A comprehensive index to over 4,500 titles from 395 publishers provides access to widely held print and electronic reference works, including subject encyclopedias and monographs.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBurton Callicott
Contact Info:
rm 101 "Reference Office"
843.953.0016
Send Email

Subjects:
English Lit, Environmental Studies, Business

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait