Remote Access
Students:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for
your College of Charleston email account.
Your logon name is before the @edisto.cofc.edu
in your e-mail address.
Do NOT use @COFC.EDU or @EDISTO.COFC.EDU as part of your username!!
Do not enter your campus-wide ID number or your social security number.
If you are having problems with off-campus access,
you might need to reset your WebMail (Edisto) password.
To do this, logon to CougarTrail.
Under "College," select "Set Your Cougars
Password." It is not necessary to change your password;
you can reset it to your current password.
Faculty/Staff:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for
your Cougars account. Your logon
name is before the @cofc.edu in your e-mail address.
You can reset your password by contacting the help desk
at 843.953.DESK (843.953.3375).
Databases
Databases
ERIC
(EBSCO version) (Full Text)
The Education Resources Information
Center provides index and full text to journal articles,
government studies, books, dissertations, and other
material on education and related fields. Combines citations
of sponsored reports, from Resources in Education, and
over 750 journals, from the Current Index to Journals
in Education. Covers 1966 to the present.
ERIC
(U.S. Dept. of Education "free" version)(Full Text)
The new Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
online education database provides the public with a
centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic
database of more than 1.1 million citations going back
to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents
(issued 1993-2004), are available for free.
Education
Full Text(Full Text)
Indexing and abstracting for over 475 English-language
periodicals, monographs and year-books in the field
of education. Indexing from 1983; abstracts from 1994;
full text from 1996.
Educator's Reference Complete (Full Text)
Database of education resources covering multiple levels from preschool
to college. Contains more than 1,100 full-text periodicals covering a
variety of disciplines, 200 reports from the U.S. Department of
Education and resources on educational specialties and issues related
to administration, funding and policies. Updated daily.
Academic
Search Premier (Full Text)
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary
database providing full text for nearly 4,700 publications,
including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic
study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
This database is updated daily.
Infotrac Academic OneFile (Full Text)
Social Sciences Citation Index
The Social Sciences Citation Index provide access to current and
retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited
references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social
sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover
individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the
world's leading science and technology journals. Please log out when you are finished.
Media Review Digest Provides extensive review coverage of educational media, along with strong supplemental coverage of entertainment resources from 1989 to the present.
Primary Search (Full Text)
Focusing on elementary school research Primary Search provides full
text for more than 60 popular magazines. All full text articles
included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator
(Lexiles). Full text backfiles go as far back as 1989, while indexing
and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1984.
The African American Experience
A collection of resources on African American life covering such topics
as history, biography, literature, arts, education, civil rights,
politics, folklore, etc.
CQ
Electronic Library (Full Text)
Includes CQ Researcher, a source for in-depth
analysis reporting on the most current and controversial
issues of the day, CQ Weekly, a source for expert coverrage
of the U.S. Congress such as status of bills, votes
and amendments, floor and committee activity, and CQ's
Encyclopedia of American Government. Now
includes CQ Public Affairs Collection providing a wide
range of public policy issues. Also includes internet
links in Education.
Periodicals Archive Online (formerly Periodical Contents Index - Full Text) (Full Text)
Index to articles from 1802 to 1995 in the humanities
and social sciences. Includes full-text to approximately
140 journals.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database includes over 2
million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles
added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide
variety of fields.
AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
The most extensive online collection
of copyright-released multimedia material available.
It contains The Associated Press' current year's photo
library and a wide selection of images from their vast
negative and print library, dating from the 1840s. The
Multimedia Archive contains over 750,000 photos.
Tests in Print
Tests in Print (TIP) serves
as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available
tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP
provides vital information to users including test purpose, test
publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test
population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait