search tips
When searching library databases think NOUNS.
Take the time to write down your topic and pull out the main concepts. Separate key terms with AND. Eliminate prepositions.
remote access
Students:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for
your College of Charleston email account.
Your logon name is before the @edisto.cofc.edu
in your e-mail address.
Do NOT use @COFC.EDU or @EDISTO.COFC.EDU as part of your username!!
Do not enter your campus-wide ID number or your social security number.
If you are having problems with off-campus access,
you might need to reset your WebMail (Edisto) password.
To do this, logon to CougarTrail.
Under "College," select "Set Your Cougars
Password." It is not necessary to change your password;
you can reset it to your current password.
Faculty/Staff:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for
your Cougars account. Your logon
name is before the @cofc.edu in your e-mail address.
You can reset your password by contacting the help desk
at 843.953.DESK (843.953.3375).
Search for cases and periodical literature.
- EconLit
THE index for quality economics journals and periodical literature. - Business Source Premier
General business database with a decent number of Econ titles. - ScienceDirect
Don't be thrown off by the title of this database, it indexes and provides full text for close to 300 econ titles. - J-Stor
Click on "advanced search" and check the box for Economics to get a more refined list of results.
+++ Remember, the "stor" of J-stor is short for storage. All articles are at least 5 years old. - Wall Street Journal
1984 to the present - Wall Street Journal (historic 1889 - 1989)
1889 - 1989 - Academic Search Premier
General database. - Academic One File
Another general database. - GoogleScholar
Like Google, only scholarly.
Subject Guide |
Burton Callicottrm 101 "Reference Office"
843.953.0016
Send Email
Subjects:
English Lit, Environmental Studies, Business
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait