Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Foreign Languages 

Last update: Aug 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/languages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Off Campus Access

You will be automatically prompted to login ("authenticate") when you click on the name of a database or e-journal, either from our databases list, e-journals page, or from one of the subject guides.


Students:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for your College of Charleston email account. Your logon name is before the @edisto.cofc.edu in your e-mail address.
Do NOT use @COFC.EDU or @EDISTO.COFC.EDU as part of your username!!
Do not enter your campus-wide ID number or your social security number.
If you are having problems with off-campus access, you might need to reset your WebMail (Edisto) password.
To do this, logon to CougarTrail. Under "College," select "Set Your Cougars Password." It is not necessary to change your password; you can reset it to your current password.

Faculty/Staff:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for your Cougars account. Your logon name is before the @cofc.edu in your e-mail address. You can reset your password by contacting the help desk at 843.953.DESK (843.953.3375).

 
 

Finding Journal Articles and Why

If you are familiar finding articles for English literature, you should have no difficulty in the various foreign languages offered at the College of Charleston. The databases listed below give mostly  literary analyses in English with the exception of MLA Bibliography which is much more international in scope.

One thing to consider when researching foreign language literature. Addlestone Library's collection of non-English scholarly journals is limited. Begin your research early so that you can make adequate use of Interlibrary Loan to access the widest range of non-English journals.

Books are good, of course, but journal articles are, by their nature, shorter, more concise, and, oftentimes, more current.

 

Foreign Language Databases

  • Academic Search Premier  
    The world’s largest multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • MLA Bibliography  
    This is the primary index for literary criticism. It indexes journal articles, essays and book chapters, and books. Remember, though, it is basically an index. Full text is limited.
  • J-STOR  
    J-STOR's strength lies in full text articles from nearly 500 scholarly journals. Nearly 25% are journals in the area of language & literature.
  • Project Muse  
    Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Muse is the product of the reputable Johns Hopkins University Press and has approximately 130 literary journals in full text.
  • Clase/Periodica  
    CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities and PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies  
    Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Not user-friendly, the HLAS still has much useful material both in English and Spanish.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImagePhil Powell

When Mr. Powell is offline, go here for help.



Contact Info:
Room 101- Reference Office
Addlestone Library
843-953-8006
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait