Quick Tips
Article Finder
If you know the exact citation of an article and are looking for the full-text of the article, try this tool!
Off Campus Access
You will be automatically prompted to login ("authenticate") when you click on the name of a database or e-journal, either from our databases list, e-journals page, or from one of the subject guides.
Students:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for
your College of Charleston email account.
Your logon name is before the @edisto.cofc.edu
in your e-mail address.
Do NOT use @COFC.EDU or @EDISTO.COFC.EDU as part of your username!!
Do not enter your campus-wide ID number or your social security number.
If you are having problems with off-campus access,
you might need to reset your WebMail (Edisto) password.
To do this, logon to CougarTrail.
Under "College," select "Set Your Cougars
Password." It is not necessary to change your password;
you can reset it to your current password.
Faculty/Staff:
Use the same logon name and password that you use for
your Cougars account. Your logon
name is before the @cofc.edu in your e-mail address.
You can reset your password by contacting the help desk
at 843.953.DESK (843.953.3375).
Find Articles
Remember that these journal databases or indexes are suggestions. Your research for Art History may involve anthropology or history, so you might want to look at the databases suggested in those subject guides.
Selected Art History Databases/Indexes
ARTstor (Full Text)
A collection of over 300,000 images which documents artistic traditions
across many times and cultures. The focus of the collection includes
architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and
design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Art Full Text (Full Text)
Formerly Art Index, this database indexes more than 400 art and
architecture publications from English-language periodicals, yearbooks,
museum bulletins, and some European periodicals. Indexing from 1984;
abstracts from 1994; select full text from 1997. Serves as a
comprehensive record of reproductions of works of art that appear
anywhere in any of the indexed publications; note use of "il." to
denote availability of illustrations. Often titles of reproduced works
are included in notes field.
JSTOR (Full Text)
Full-text archive of scholarly journal literature from the mid-1800s to
the late-1990s. Historical coverage includes American Historical
Review, Joural of American History, Journal of Contemporary History,
Journal of Southern History, Speculum, William and Mary Quarterly, and
many others.
Oxford Reference Online (Full Text)
Search and access the full text of a suite of Oxford reference books
including The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World, and many more.
Academic Search Premier (Full Text)
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database providing full
text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than
3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of
academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This
database is updated daily.
Infotrac Academic OneFile (Full Text) ![]()
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading
journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical
sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology,
literature and other subjects, OneFile is both authoritative and
comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML
full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate
information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times
back to 1995. Updated daily.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index
covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully
covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and
it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major
science and social science journals. Please log out when you are finished.
Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature indexes articles and essays on anthropology
and archaeology and includes art history, demography, economics,
psychology, and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological
Literature includes articles two or more pages long in works published
in English and other European languages from the late 19th century to
the present.
ITER
A bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to
the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for articles;
bibliographies; catalogues; abstracts; and discographies are included.
Periodicals Archive Online
(formerly Periodical Contents Index) (Full Text)
Index to articles from 1802 to 1995 in the humanities and social sciences. Includes full-text to approximately 140 journals.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database includes over 2
million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles
added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide
variety of fields.
Reference Librarian |
Jannette FinchWhen Jannette Finch is offline, go here for help.
Lowcountry Graduate Center & College of Charleston North Campus
5300 International Blvd., Suite B-100
North Charleston, SC 29418
Tel: 843 760-5860
Fax: 843 953-7454
www.lowcountrygradcenter.org
Send Email
Subjects:
General
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait