Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Art History  Tags: art arts art_history art_criticism  

Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/arthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Books             Print Page
  
 

About Keyword Searching

Keywords are the most important words in your concept. They are more specific than natural language. For instance, if you want to find out how to teach art history to preschoolers (a natural language phrase that would yield results in Google), you might want to try "teaching," AND "art history." Use a thesaurus if you get stuck. Keep alternate spellings in mind, i.e. color and colour.

 

About Boolean Searching

Use “and” to combine terms together,  “or” to find one term, the other term or both, “not” to exclude terms. Other operators are bound searches (“media industry”), wildcard searches (ne?t), truncated searches (broadcast*), proximity searches (N5) (W8).

Follow this link for a fun, interactive tutorial on Boolean Searching from Union County College.

 
 

Searching Tips

It can be useful to browse the book collection to get ideas for your research, or just for fun.Remember to use the tabs at the top of this page or contact the reference librarian if you need help narrowing or targeting your search. Asking for help SAVES YOU TIME!

  • 2nd floor - call numbers A - M
  • 3rd floor - call numbers N - Z

VERY generally, check the N section for Art History titles.

 

Finding Books

  • Addlestone Library Catalog    Edit or Delete link_867316  Get Quick Stats
    This link allows users to search the Addlestone Library collection via the online catalog. Keyword, title, author and subject searching is available.
  • Library floor plan    Edit or Delete link_867319  Get Quick Stats
    Books you can check out are located in the CofC Book Stacks.
    - 2nd floor - call numbers A - M
    - 3rd floor - call numbers N - Z
  • PASCAL Delivers    Edit or Delete link_867317  Get Quick Stats
    PASCAL Delivers enables students and faculty at SC's institutions of higher learning to request books from any academic library in the state, receiving those books at their home institution in just a few business days.
  • WorldCat    Edit or Delete link_867318  Get Quick Stats
    Over 60 million listings of many types of material (books, journals, audiovisual, etc.) cataloged by thousands of libraries around the world. Updated daily.
 

E-Book Databases


  • ebrary (Full Text)  A collection of over 27,000 electronic books covering all subject areas. A web browser plug-in is required to read ebrary books. Click here to download the ebrary web browser plug-in.


  • NetLibrary (Full Text)  Over 14,500 electronic books for searching and reading. A web browser plug-in is sometimes required to read NetLibrary books. Click here to download the NetLibrary web browser plug-ins.


  • Google Book Search (Full Text)  Over 10,000 full text books many of which are older and no longer copyrighted. Limited access to almost 100,000 additional works. To limit your search to full text click "Full view books". Click here

 

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageJannette Finch

When Jannette Finch is offline, go here for help.



Contact Info:
Lowcountry Graduate Center & College of Charleston North Campus
5300 International Blvd., Suite B-100
North Charleston, SC 29418

Tel: 843 760-5860
Fax: 843 953-7454

www.lowcountrygradcenter.org
Send Email

Subjects:
General

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait