Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Art History  Tags: art arts art_history art_criticism  

Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/arthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Resources             Print Page
  
 

The Invisible and Visible Web

The Visible Web (like your kitchen junk drawer) is what you see when you search general search engines; example:  Google.
Hint: Use the Advanced tab to access Boolean type fields and limit by domain.


The Invisible Web (like an organized kitchen drawer) is what you cannot retrieve or see in the search results,
because of coding, or because they are in a specialized database that someone pays for; example: Academic Search Premier.

This analogy is helpful to distinguish between your search results you get when you search Google or another search engine and your results when you search a specialized database. Think of Google as great for brainstorming a topic, or to gain general knowledge, but use a database or electronic index if you need peer-reviewed sources, or to target your research.

 

 
 

Web Resources

19 th Century Art Worldwide

ADAM: The Art, Design, Architecture and Media Information Gateway
Searchable catalog of quality sites by a team of librarians in UK.

Art Daily

Art Diary

Art Images for College Teaching
Organized by period.

Artcyclopedia

Great Buildings Online
International historical dictionary of architecture and architects, including photographs and 3-D models.

Mother of All Art and Art History Links Pages
A site maintained by the University of Michigan listing art history departments, fine art schools, research resources, image collections and online art, resources for visual collections, art museums, and textual and lingusitic resources.

The National Museum of Women in the Arts
Profiles of select women artists from the Renaissance to the present with bibliographies and listings of exhibition catalogs.

Timeline of Art History
Metropolitan Museum of Art. Includes over 20,000 pages, consisting of around 300 chronological narratives, 750 special topic essays, and 5000 color illustrations of Museum works of art. A very good site.

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageJannette Finch

When Jannette Finch is offline, go here for help.



Contact Info:
Lowcountry Graduate Center & College of Charleston North Campus
5300 International Blvd., Suite B-100
North Charleston, SC 29418

Tel: 843 760-5860
Fax: 843 953-7454

www.lowcountrygradcenter.org
Send Email

Subjects:
General

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait