Current Periodicals
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 

Last update: Apr 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Remote Access

Students:

Use the same log-on name and password that you use for your College of Charleston email account. Your log-on name is before the @edisto.cofc.edu in your e-mail address.
Do NOT use @COFC.EDU or @EDISTO.COFC.EDU as part of your user-name!!
Do not enter your campus-wide ID number or your social security number.
If you are having problems with off-campus access, you might need to reset your WebMail (Edisto) password.
To do this, logon to CougarTrail. Under "College," select "Set Your Cougars Password." It is not necessary to change your password; you can reset it to your current password.

Faculty/Staff:
Use the same log-on name and password that you use for your Cougars account. Your log-on name is before the @cofc.edu in your e-mail address. You can reset your password by contacting the help desk at 843.953.DESK (843.953.3375).

 
 

Databases

Databases

General History

Academic Search Premier (Full Text)
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily.

Infotrac Academic OneFile (Full Text)

A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

JSTOR (Full Text)
Full-text archive of scholarly journal literature from the mid-1800s to the late-1990s. Historical coverage includes American Historical Review, Journal of American History, Journal of Contemporary History, Journal of Southern History, Speculum, William and Mary Quarterly, and many others.

Periodicals Archive Online (formerly Periodical Contents Index - Full Text) (Full Text)
Index to articles from 1802 to 1995 in the humanities and social sciences. Includes full-text to approximately 140 journals, including Central European History, Current History, History Today, Journal of Contemporary History, and more. PCI also provides links to full-text coverage in JSTOR.

Historical Statistics of The United States
Contains annual, time-series data with national coverage on almost any aspect of United States economics, population or infrastructure since the government began recording statistics.

Oxford Reference Online: History (Full Text)
Search and access the full text of a suite of Oxford reference books including The Oxford Companion to United States History, A Dictionary of World History, and many more.

Project Muse (Full Text)
Searchable access to scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Full-text history coverage includes American Jewish History, Eighteenth-Century Studies, Essays in Medieval Studies, History and Memory, Journal of Social History, Late Imperial China, Reviews in American History and more.

Web of Science
Access to the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Please log out when you are finished.

Dissertation Abstracts
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Updated monthly.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide variety of fields.

WorldCat
Over 50 million listings of many types of material (books, journals, audiovisual, etc.) cataloged by libraries around the world. Updated daily.

American History

America: History and Life
Includes citations to material about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

History Resource Center: U.S.(Full Text)
Provides access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.

The African American Experience
A collection of resources on African American life covering such topics as history, biography, literature, arts, education, civil rights, politics, folklore, etc.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 (Full Text)
Contains full-text images of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. It includes more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages and is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement.

Making of America (Full Text)
The University of Michigan offers a full-text library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Ladies Repository, Old Guard, Vanity Fair, and a handful of other periodicals are offered in digitized format. Several books are also offered, including Arthur Mazyck's Guide to Charleston Illustrated.

Library of Southern Literature (Full Text)
This collection of electronic texts from the University of North Carolina documents the riches and diversity of Southern experience as presented in one hundred of its most important literary works from Mary Boykin Chestnut, Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and others.

The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (Full Text)
Contains the full-text of articles in The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald and the Richmond Examiner from Nov. 1860 through April 1865.

Dictionary of American History (Full Text)
Gale Virtual Reference Library.

World History

Historical Abstracts
Covers all branches of world history (excluding America and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

History Resource Center: World (Full Text)
Collection of resources providing coverage of events, themes and trends in world history from antiquity to the present, with a multicultural and global view. Contains full text articles from over 110 academic journals, more than 1,600 historical maps and atlases, chronological time-lines and annotated web links to primary source special collection sites.

Annual Egyptological Bibliography Online
The AEB is the primary bibliographical resource for Egyptological research. It is published jointly by the International Association of Egyptologists and the Netherlands Institute for the Near East, and it contains abstracts (in German, French or English) of all Egyptological articles and monographs published from 1947 to 2001, some 46,000 titles in total.

ITER
A bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for articles; bibliographies; catalogues; abstracts; and discographies are included.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Covers 1994 to the present.

Biographical Information

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Full Text)
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Biography Resource Center (Full Text)
Indexes nearly 250 domestic and international English-language periodicals in life sciences and agricultural subjects. Includes book reviews. Covers July 1983 to the present.

American National Biography (Full Text)
Biographical information on people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. ANB contains profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all walks of American life, from the well-known to the infamous to the obscure.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
One of the largest indexes of sources of biographical information on notable people.

 

Your Guide

Profile ImageJared Alexander Seay
Contact Info:
Reference Office
953-1428
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait