Electronic Resources @ Addlestone Library
Dictionary of American History (Full Text)
Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Oxford Reference Online: History (Full Text)
Search and access the full text of a suite of Oxford reference books
including The Oxford Companion to United States History, A Dictionary
of World History, and many more.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History (Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Full Text)
Presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles,
biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Full Text)
Provides 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective.
Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments
that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Also covers Asian relations
with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and
also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa (Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Full Text)
With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, this second edition
reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in
recent years, making it more relevant and necessary than ever before.
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with
major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the
Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the
region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its
population, economy, and government.
Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students (Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Full Text)
This set has been prepared especially for nonspecialists, focusing on
Renaissance-era topics most studied in high school world history, art,
literature, economics, and science curriculum. Includes entries on a
range of topics, including Florence, Galileo, heraldry, Medici family,
opera, piracy, Shakespeare, Leonardo Da Vinci, and many others.
Includes a master chronology with topical time-lines, a bibliography
with age-appropriate further reading sources, and a comprehensive index.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Full Text)
An
illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written
biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's
past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Full Text)
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words,
written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable,
and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific
bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual
cross-references to related essays.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages
(Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Full Text)
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures
from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items
of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans,
necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the
people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing,
head-wear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different
cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security (Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Full Text)
Provides a comprehensive, subject specific guide to the history,
uses, scientific principles, and technologies of espionage,
intelligence, and security, with special emphasis placed on the current
ethical, legal, and social issues surrounding this very topical subject.
Print Resources @ Addlestone Library
Great Lives From History Indexes
REF CT104 .D54 1998
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REF D114 D5 1982
Cambridge Modern History
REF D208 C17
Historical Abstracts
REF D299 H5
Facts on File
REF D410 F3
English Historical Documents
REF DA 26 E55
Oxford Companion to British History
REF DA34 O93 1997
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire
REF DG270 .B86 2002
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe
REF DJK6 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Asian History
REF DS31 E53 1998
Cambridge History of Africa
REF DT20 C27
American
Eras
REF E169.1 A47 1997
Dictionary of American History
REF E174 .D52 2003
Encyclopedia of American Facts
REF E174.5 .C3 1997
Encyclopedia
of Southern History
REF F207.7 E52
South
Carolina: A History
CofC Stacks F269 .E34 1998
Atlas of World History
REF G1030.R36 1995
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait