Current Periodicals
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 

Last update: Apr 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Resources             Print Page
  
 

Searching the Web

Why should I use Web sites?

  • Web sites are a great source of information about organizations and institutions and government generated statistics and reports.
  • They are also useful for comparing popular perceptions to scientific research findings. The free Web contains a vast collection of resources - some worthwhile

How do I find good Web sites?

Start by reviewing the Web Searching Guide for expert advice on the best search engines--both general and specialized.

Of particular note are the "academic web resources" which includes a link to Google Scholar and other search engines that focus on, credible, scholarly information available on the Web.

note: no single search engine comes close to indexing all of the Web. Be sure to search two or three different search engines if you want to be thorough.

For every major, most minors, and other special topics, librarians have put together a subject guide with links to quality sites (near the bottom of the guide).

For quick and mainly free Web-based reference information such as encyclopedias, check out the on-line reference page.

 
 

Web Resources for History

BBC News Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
This wonderful site contains the text to numerous European primary documents. The documents are arranged by period and region.

La France en Amérique/France in America
La France en Amérique/France in America is a bilingual digital library exploring the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th Century to the end of the 19th Century.

The History Net
Articles about every aspect of history imaginable. Easily searchable due to its left-hand navigation bar and search functions.

Hanover Historical Texts Project
Started in 1995, this site from the history department at Hanover College offers full-text primary resources from all over the world.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Greece, Hellenism, Ancient Rome, and the Ancient Near East are all included in this expansive website. Full-text primary and secondary sources are included.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
This amazing website gives links to full-text primary and secondary sources, maps, law texts, and much more. It is the largest collection of on-line medieval texts.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
This site includes full-text primary and secondary documents, links to "megasites," and beautiful color and b/w images. Period covered: early modern Europe to present world history.

Primary Documents in American History
Provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of those crucial documents in American history. The initial release of this Web site contains documents from the years 1763 to 1877.

From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909(Full Text)
396 pamphlets published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.

Words and Deeds in American History
This site from Thomas, the Library of Congress Website, gives full-text access in both scanned and electronic formats to primary documents from America's history.

 

Web Searching Tips

8 great Internet search tips:

  1. Use phrase searching for multiple word phrases by enclosing the phrase in quotation marks--Example "War and Peace.”
  2. Use advanced searching mode whenever possible for more precise searching.
  3. Use the most specific or esoteric words you can think of to describe your search
  4. Use the command "Control-F" or "Edit > Find in Page" to search for a word within a long Web document.
  5. Understand the difference between domains-- .com, .org., .gov, .edu-- and limit your search to the best domain.
  6. Use "+" to require a word in your search or "–" to eliminate a word from your search.
  7. Change the word order or try new words if your search doesn’t bring you the desired results.
  8. Ask a Librarian for help or use the Subject Guides
 

Your Guide

Profile ImageJared Alexander Seay
Contact Info:
Reference Office
953-1428
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait