This is the "Helpful Apps Overview" page of the "Study Skills Workshops 201: Helpful Apps " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide provides information on finding helpful apps for studying and managing college life.
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/helpfulapps Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Helpful Apps Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Is There a "Best" App?

College Tech: 101 Indispensable Apps, Websites, Services & Resources for Students provides a good overview of the types of apps that are available to help you study and manage college life.  The Daily Tekk roundup is #22 in DailyTekk’s famous Top 100 series which explores the best startups, gadgets, apps, websites and services in a given category. In this list Apps the author includes apps for studying, socializing, eating, staying organized, getting a job or internship, financing your education, college life, online learning, and other miscellaneous helpful apps. 

Apps for College

  • iPad Apps for College from AppAdvice
    If you're planning on taking your iPad to college, then you need to make sure it is college ready. Fortunately, the App Store is full to the brim with great apps that can enhance your academic life. This AppList highlights some of the best apps out there for life on campus. Read on and discover which apps you need to download before leaving for college.--website description
 

7 Free Apps That Make College Life Simple

Taylor Ramage provides information 7 Free Apps That Make College Life Simple.  A few worth noting:

 Socialbrite also provides a great list of the Top 15 tools & apps for college students and DailyTekk has a wealth of additional resources in their EdTech: 100 Tech Tools for Teachers and Students roundup.

 

 

Apps

Cover Art
AppAdvice
This app is a companion to the web site, appadvice.com. Contains iPhone/iPad news, reviews, and guides to the best apps by function, such as flight tracker, apps to replace your camera, personal databases, Google Docs managers, and more.

 

Tools Not Toys by Melissa Hortman

 

Tools Not Toys 2.0 by Melissa Hortman

 

App Showcase

Ryan Lytle, on US News provides readers with helpful information on 5 Apps That Can Help Students Manage College Life.  Apps included are:

Other Helpful Apps for Studying worth noting:

 

Books

Cover Art
Best iPhone Apps - J.D. Biersdorfer
Nicely laid-out book describing the best apps in several different categories.

Cover Art
Five-Star Apps: the best iPhone and iPad Apps for Work and Play - Glenn Fleishman
Another good resource for reviews of the best apps, by category.

Cover Art
Best iPad Apps: The Guide for Discriminating Downloaders - Peter Meyers
Suggests best iPad apps in categories, such as "get work done," "manipulate photos," and "outline ideas." Discusses why the iPad is different from a smartphone or laptop and what unique role it can play in your life.

Cover Art
Take Control of Working with Your iPad - Joe Kissell
Focused on using the iPad for work. Covers creation of documents, spreadsheets, and presentations, how to transfer files between devices, manage your calendars, take notes effectively, and print from you iPad.

 

Helpful Apps Acknowledgments and Contributors

Acknowledgments

"Helpful Apps" is based on Apps for academics: mobile web sites & apps, created by Nicole Hennig and Remlee Green at the MIT Libraries

Contributors
Many departments have suggested apps that have been incorporated in this guide. If you have a recomendation, please feel free to use the "Suggest an App" form below!

Center for Student Learning
Melissa Hortman (Tools Not Toys: Presentation), Melissa Thomas, Lindy Coleman (App Suggestions) 

College of Charleston Libraries
James Williams, Steven Profit and J. van Arnhem (Mobile Access Research Guide)

Center for Disability Services
Deborah Freel Mihal  (Apps for College Students: Presentation)    

Academic Advising and Planning Center
Silvia Youssef Hanna (App Suggestions)

Teaching, Learning & Technology (Tutorials and Mobile Apps blog)
Zach Hartje (iPad Lending Program)

Suggest an App for this Guide!

 

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
Study Skills Workshops: Helpful Apps by van Arnhem, J.P. is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip