A comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. This encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Due to rising costs of scholarly information and a diminished collection budget, this resource was recently evaluated and selected for non-renewal as of July 1, 2016. For similar information, contact the subject specialist for your area for assistance.
Gives a detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history. At the heart of this database are the 27 volumes of the Daily Life Through History series from Greenwood Press and the six volume Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.
To find even more reference books relating to national and international literature, checkout the the Ready Reference collection on the first floor of the library. You will want to look in the "P's."
The definitive reference on literature in English, this handbook provides an alphabetical listing of more than 2,000 important terms and facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling,and information technology.
A fascinating resource for students and general readers and an essential research tool for scholars in literature, it is the first thematic reference on this scale to be published in English. Topics covered include themes relating to adventure, family life, the supernatural, eroticism, status, humor, idealism, terror, and many other categories of human experience.
This resource provides unrivaled coverage of all aspects of English literature - from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.