Skip to main content

Digital Humanities: Journals

Resources for teaching and scholarship in the field of digital humanities.

Library Databases

Don't forget to visit the Library Databases page to find additonal resources!

Journals

The Appendix: A quarterly web journal of experimental and narrative history that solicits articles from historians, writers, and artists. The journal format takes advantage of the flexibility of hypertext and modern web presentation techniques to experiment with and explore the process and method of writing history.

AriadneWeb magazine for information professionals in Higher Education based in the UK and worldwide.

Code4Lib Journal: Open access, exists to foster community and share information among those interested in the intersection of libraries, technology, and the future. Supports communication and sharing among technologists and communication with the larger library community, aiming to help engender collective understanding and the necessary support for improving library technology and digital services.

Comics Grid: Open access, born digital, open peer review journal of comics scholarship.

DSH: Digital Scholarship in the Humanities (formerly Literary and Linguistic Computing): An international journal which publishes material on all aspects of computing and information technology applied to literature and language research and teaching.

Digital Humanities Now: Showcases the scholarship and news of interest to the digital humanities community through a process of aggregation, discovery, curation, and review. Digital Humanities Now also is an experiment in ways to identify, evaluate, and distribute scholarship on the open web through a weekly publication and the quarterly Journal of Digital Humanities.

Digital Humanities Quarterly Open access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities. Published by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO).

Digital Literary Studies: Open accessinternational peer-reviewed interdisciplinary publication with a focus on those aspects of Digital Humanities primarily concerned with literary studies. 

Digital Medievalist (DM): Open accesson-line, refereed JournalDM accepts work of original research and scholarship, notes on technological topics (markup and stylesheets, tools and software, etc.), commentary pieces discussing developments in the field, bibliographic and review articles, and project reports.

Digital Studies / Le champ numérique: Open access, a refereed academic journal serving as a formal arena for scholarly activity and as an academic resource for researchers in the digital humanities.

D-Lib MagazineOpen access, a refereed electronic publication with a focus on digital library research and development, including new technologies, applications, and contextual social and economic issues.

Fibreculture Journal: Open access (Open Humanities Press), peer reviewed international journal with an emphasis on the ongoing social, technical and conceptual transitions and encourages critical and speculative interventions in discussions concerning a wide range of topics of interest. These include the social and cultural contexts, philosophy and politics of contemporary media technologies and events. 

First Monday: Open access, peer–reviewed journal devoted to the Internet. It publishes original research papers about the Internet and related technologies. First Monday is one of the first openly accessible peer review journals solely on the Internet, about the Internet.

Frontiers in Digital HumanitiesOpen access, publishes rigorously peer-reviewed research from Digital History to Big Data, providing a community platform for the Humanities in the digital age. This multidisciplinary journal is at the forefront of disseminating and communicating knowledge and impactful discoveries to researchers, academics, and the public worldwide.

Game Studies: Open Access, web-published crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games research.

International Journal of Humanities and Arts Computing(formerly History and Computing), a multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed forum for research on all aspects of arts and humanities computing.

Journal of Cultural Analytics: Open access journal dedicated to the computational study of culture. Its aim is to promote high-quality scholarship that applies computational and quantitative methods to the study of cultural artifacts (text, image, sound) at significantly larger scales than traditional methods.

Journal of Electronic Publishing: A forum for research and discussion about contemporary publishing practices, and the impact of those practices upon users. Contributors include publishers, scholars, librarians, journalists, students, technologists, attorneys, and others with an interest in the methods and means of contemporary publishing.

Journal of Interactive Humanities: Open accessa peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides a forum for discussion and publication on the intersection of interactive media, design, and the humanities.

Journal of Interactive Technology and PedagogyPromotes open scholarly discourse around critical and creative uses of digital technology in teaching, learning, and research.

Journal of the Text Encoding Initiative: The official journal of the Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) Consortium. It publishes selected papers from the annual TEI Conference and Members' Meeting and special issues based on topics or themes of interest to the community or in conjunction with special events or meetings associated with TEI. Its contents are rigorously peer-reviewed.

Kairos | A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy: Open access online journal exploring the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy. Its mission is to publish scholarship that examines digital and multimodal composing practices, promoting work that enacts its scholarly argument through rhetorical and innovative uses of new media.

Language Resources and Evaluation (formerly Computers and the Humanities): A publication devoted to the acquisition, creation, annotation, and use of language resources, methods for evaluation of resources, technologies and applications. 

Public Domain ReviewNewsletterarticles, and collections dedicated to showcasing the most interesting and unusual out-of-copyright works available online.

Directories and Repositories

DHShare: A Collaborative Bibliographic Repository is a scholarly and pedagogical resource for sharing, organizing, and finding link sources pertinent to the Digital Humanities, and for discussing how these sources can be used in educational settings.

Digital Commons Network: Hosted, Open Access Repository solution by bepress, provides a visual search for "692,966 works from 277 institutions." 

OpenEditionOpenEdition is the umbrella portal for Revues.org, Hypotheses.org and Calenda, three platforms dedicated to electronic resources in the humanities and social sciences.

OpenDOAR: An authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.