Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH): Connects the international DH community through conferences, discussion, and publications.
Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO): Promotes and supports digital research and teaching across all arts and humanities disciplines, acting as a community-based advisory force, and supporting excellence in research, publication, collaboration and training.
American Historical Association (AHA): Provides leadership for the profession, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members.
Digital Library Federation: A network of libraries and related agencies pioneering innovative uses of information technologies and community expertise to extend collections and services.
Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities (DARIAH-EU): DARIAH's mission is to enhance and support digitally-enabled research across the humanities and arts. DARIAH is working with communities of practice to explore and apply ICT-based methods and tools to enable new research questions to be asked and old questions to be posed in new ways, improve research opportunities and outcomes through linking distributed digital source materials of many kinds, and exchange knowledge, expertise, methodologies and practices across domains and disciplines.
HASTAC: (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Advanced Collaborative): HASTAC is a virtual organization of more than 10,000 individuals and institutions dedicated to innovative new modes of learning and research. HASTAC network members contribute to the community by sharing work and ideas with others, and hosting HASTAC conferences and workshops. HASTAC administers the annual $2 million MacArthur Foundation Digital Media and Learning Competition.
4Humanities: A platform and resource for advocacy of the humanities, drawing on the technologies, new-media expertise, and ideas of the international digital humanities community.
Humanistica: The future European Association for Digital Humanities.
Modern Language Association (MLA): The MLA provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy. MLA members host an annual convention and other meetings, work with related organizations, and sustain one of the finest publishing programs in the humanities.
Office of Digital Humanities | NEH: The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)'s Office of Digital Humanities (ODH) offers grant programs that fund project teams developing new technologies for humanities research, teaching and learning, public engagement, open access publishing, as well as for those studying digital culture from a humanistic perspective. Another major goal of ODH is to increase capacity of the humanities field, interpreted broadly, in applying digital methods.
TEI Text Encoding Initiative: The Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) is a consortium which collectively develops and maintains a standard for the representation of texts in digital form. Its chief deliverable is a set of Guidelines which specify encoding methods for machine-readable texts, chiefly in the humanities, social sciences and linguistics.
View centerNet in a larger map
centerNet: centerNet is an international network of digital humanities centers formed for cooperative and collaborative action to benefit digital humanities and allied fields in general, and centers as humanities cyberinfrastructure in particular. Anchored by its new publication DHCommons,centerNet enables individual DH Centers to network internationally — sharing and building on projects, tools, staff, and expertise. Through initiatives such as Day(s) of DH and Resources for Starting and Sustaining DH Centers, centerNet provides a virtual DH center for isolated DH projects and platform for educating the broader scholarly community about Digital Humanities.
Center for Digital Humanities - University of South Carolina: The CDH provides research and development help to scholars at the University of South Carolina.
Center for Digital Research in the Humanities: (CDRH) advances interdisciplinary, collaborative research, and offers forums, workshops and research fellowships for faculty and students in the area of digital scholarship. In 2008, the CDRH published "Promotion & Tenure Criteria for Assessing Digital Research in the Humanities."
Center for History & New Media: Founded in 1994 under the direction of Roy Rosenzweig, the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding. Each year CHNM’s many project websites receive over 20 million visitors, and over a million people rely on its digital tools to teach, learn, and conduct research.
Center for Textual Studies & Digital Humanities: Loyola University Chicago, a collaborative multidisciplinary effort in the College of Arts and Sciences led by the Departments of English and Computer Science, the Center for Textual Studies and Digital Humanities (CTSDH) supports research across the humanities, as well as in computer science, the School of Communication, the social sciences, law, and University Libraries. In addition to supporting research projects, the CTSDH sponsors conferences, lectures, and workshops, and offers undergraduate and graduate students the chance to work with faculty on advanced research, and to take courses in and pursue research of their own in the interdisciplinary areas of textual studies and digital humanities.
Consortium of Humanities Centers and Institutes: Established in 1988, the Consortium of Humanities Centers and Institutes serves as an arena for the discussion of issues germane to crossdisciplinary activity in the humanities and as a network for the circulation of information and best practices related to the organizational and management dimensions of humanities centers and institutes. CHCI currently has a membership of 154 organizations in the US, Europe, Asia, and Pacific Rim. CHCI produces a major Annual Meeting of its membership, maintains a content-rich website, produces an annual print directory, and serves as a re-circulator for information about its members via listservs and its website.
Department of Digital Humanities (DDH): King's College London, an academic department in the School of Arts and Humanities at King's College London. Formerly called the Centre for Computing in the Humanities, Digital Humanities includes the Centre for e-Research (CeRch) and is an international leader in the application of technology in the arts and humanities, and in the social sciences. The primary objective of the Department of Digital Humanities is to study the possibilities of computing for arts and humanities scholarship and, in collaboration with local, national and international research partners across the disciplines, to design and build applications which implement these possibilities, in particular those which produce online research publications.
HyperStudio: MIT, explores the potential of new media technologies for the enhancement of education and research in the humanities. Work focuses on questions about the integration of technology into humanities curricula within the broader context of scholarly inquiry and pedagogical practice.
Institute for the Future of the Book: A small think-and-do tank investigating the evolution of intellectual discourse as it shifts from printed pages to networked screens. There are independent branches of Institute in New York, London and Brisbane. The New York branch is affiliated with the Libraries of New York University.
Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH): A research unit of the University of Virginia established in 1992. Goal is to explore and develop information technology as a tool for scholarly humanities research. Provides Fellows with consulting, technical support, applications development, and networked publishing facilities. IATH also cultivate partnerships and participates in humanities computing initiatives with libraries, publishers, information technology companies, scholarly organizations, and other groups residing at the intersection of computers and cultural heritage.
Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities: (MITH) is a leading digital humanities center that pursues disciplinary innovation and institutional transformation through applied research, public programming, and educational opportunities. MITH specializes in text and image analytics for cultural heritage collections, data curation, digital preservation, linked data applications, and data publishing.
metaLAB (at) Harvard: Research and teaching unit at Harvard University dedicated to exploring and expanding the frontiers of networked culture in the arts and humanities.
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University: The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding. Each year CHNM’s many project websites receive over 20 million visitors, and over a million people rely on its digital tools to teach, learn, and conduct research.
Scholars’ Lab (SLab): University of Virginia, provides consultation and teaching on the digital humanities, geospatial information, and scholarly making and building at the intersection of the digital and physical worlds for advanced students and researchers across the disciplines. The SLab hosts workshops and a popular lecture series, and supports emerging scholar-practitioners through Graduate Fellowships in Digital Humanities and UVa’s innovative Praxis Program.
UCL Centre for Digital Humanities: Brings together work being done in many different departments and centres, including the university's library services, museums and collections. Offers a research-led MA/MSc in Digital Humanities, allowing both students who have a background in the humanities to acquire necessarily skills in digital technologies, and for those with a technical background to become informed about scholarly methods in the humanities.
For more centers and labs, see: CenterNet.