Skip to main content

Digital Humanities: Teaching, Research & Publication

Resources for teaching and scholarship in the field of digital humanities.

@CofC

Articles and Posts on DH in the Classroom

Sources for Further Reading

Knowing and Doing: Understanding the Digitial Humanities Curriculum by Lisa Spiro

Knowing and Doing:  Understanding the Digital  Humanities Curriculum  Lisa Spiro  NITLE Labs  June 2011

Knowing and Doing: Understanding the Digitial Humanities Curriculum: Presentation by Lisa Spiro at Digital Humanities 2011 at Stanford analyzing 134 syllabi in order to "understand how the DH curriculum is being conceived." Topics include types of assignments, most frequent readings, and major course concepts.  Read more about Spiro's presentation on her blog, "Making Sense of 134 DH Syllabi: DH 2011 Presentation" and "Update on DH Education Presentation."  

To explore the group of syllabi, visit the associated Voyeur page, which provides a textual overview of the syllabi, including the number of words, number of unique words, longest documents, highest vocabulary density, most frequent words, notable peaks in frequency, and distinctive words. Voyeur is a text analysis environment developed by Stéfan Sinclair & Geoffrey Rockwell.

DH Projects

From Josh Honn's "Projects & Publications" from A Guide to Digital Humanities.

 

Many DH projects—past, present, and prospective—can be found at DH Commons ​(temporarily unavailable) and Around DH, a list of DH projects from around the world via Global Outlook::Digital Humanities.

 

Open Access Directories and Respositories

Directory of Open Access Books1446 Academic peer-reviewed books from 49 publishers.

DHShare: A Collaborative Bibliographic Repository is a scholarly and pedagogical resource for sharing, organizing, and finding link sources pertinent to the Digital Humanities, and for discussing how these sources can be used in educational settings.

Digital Commons Network: Hosted, Open Access Repository solution by bepress, provides a visual search for "692,966 works from 277 institutions." 

HathiTrust: The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.

OpenEditionOpenEdition is the umbrella portal for Revues.org, Hypotheses.org and Calenda, three platforms dedicated to electronic resources in the humanities and social sciences.

OpenDOAR: An authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR): Promoting open access to the research literature pre- and post-peer-review through author self-archiving in institutional eprint archives.

New Author’s Agreement from Michigan Publishing

"Michigan Publishing is pleased to announce a new author contract that signals important changes in the way that we engage with our authors and their publications. We hope over time to make the agreement increasingly author friendly. Four important clauses are key pieces of that strategy.  These changes pertain to: author copyright, institutional repository deposit, the use of Creative Commons licenses, and our commitment to archiving and openness."

Read more by MEREDITH KAHN at the University of Michigan Press blog.

Practices in the Digital Humanities

Practices in the Digital Humanities

Series Editor
Liza Potts, Ph.D.

Series Associate Editor
Kathie Gossett, Ph.D.

Series Goals
This book series is focused on the practices of the digital humanities by providing best practices, models, case studies, and examples of how to build to standards, architect experiences, manage systems, and manage projects.

For more information about this series, visit http://www.digitalculture.org/books/book-series/digital-humanities-series/

The Humanities in a Digital Age

 

CC BY NUDigital Collections.

This video features interactive presentations on the digital humanities by scholars Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Tara McPherson, and Katherine Rowe. Panel discussion and audience Q&A follow the presentation. This event was hosted at Northwestern University Library on April 23, 2012.

Pedagogy Resources

Digital Humanities vs. New Media: A Matter of Pedagogy by Staci Stutsman, HASTAC, November 17, 2013

Digital Pedagogy in Practice: Workshop Materials: Lisa Spiro's faculty workshop on digital (humanities) pedagogy at Gettysburg College. The goal of the workshop was for participants to leave with concrete ideas on how to integrate digital approaches into their own teaching. 

Digital Humanities Education: Zotero Group, Examines different approaches to digital humanities education.  Includes syllabi and curriculum planning documents, as well as as articles about open education, networked pedagogies, and more. Members are encouraged to help build the collection.

DH in the ClassroomDigital Humanities Questions & Answers 

MediaCommons: A digital scholarly network for scholars, students, and practicioners in media studies, promoting exploration of new forms of publishing within the field.

Legal Considerations While Using Web 2.0 Tools: Covers basic issues to consider when asking students to use off-campus social media tools and includes a link to Stephanie Delaneys presentation Faculty use of Web 2.0: legal considerations.

Syllabi and Courses in Digital Humanities

A list of links for DH-related syllabi and courses being offered at academic institutions. 

  • CUNY Academic Commons  DH Syllabi: A brief selection of DH-related syllabi.
  • Digital Humanities Education Zotero Group: Started by Lisa Spiro, the group collection examines different approaches to digital humanities education.  Resources Include syllabi and curriculum planning documents, articles about open education, networked pedagogies, and more.  Members are encouraged to help build the collection.
  • Digital Humanities Group: Started by Dan Cohen, includes two syllabi folders in the group library focused on a variety of disciplines.
  • Open Syllabus Project (OSP): OSP is funded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to support the first year of development, with support from Dan Cohen’s Million Syllabus Archive, Harvard University’s Berkman Center  and metaLab, Columbia’s American Assembly, Butler Library and the English Department, University of Washington’s Project Information Literacy, and UNC’s Digital Innovation group.  The OSP’s mission is to build a large-scale online collection of syllabi and to build foundational tools for analyzing it in order to advance scholarly inquiry, promote institutional cooperation, and foster pedagogical diversity. 

Projects & Research (Collaboration, Standards & Best Practices)

Collaboration

  • DHCommons: "An initiative of centerNet, is an online hub focused on matching digital humanities projects seeking assistance with scholars interested in project collaboration. This hub responds to a pressing and demonstrable need for a project-collaborator matching service that will allow scholars interested in DH to enter the field by joining an existing project as well as make existing projects more sustainable by drawing in new, well-matched participants. Additionally, DHCommons helps break down the siloization of an emerging field by connecting collaborators across institutions, a particularly acute need for solo practitioners and those without access to a digital humanities center."

Standards & Best Practices

  • Best Practices: Recommendations for Digital Humanities ProjectsCenter for Digital Research in the Humanities.
  • DH Curation Guide: Intended to help students and those new to the field, the DH Curation Guide provides a quick reference for teachers, administrators, and anyone seeking an orientation in the issues and practicalities of data curation. The guide offers concise, expert introductions to key topics, including annotated links to important standards, articles, projects, and other resources.
  • Guide to Digitial Humanities and the Arts: Produced by arts-humanities.net, this guide provides information on projects creating and using digital content, tools and methods to answer research questions, information on tools and methods for creating and using digital resources, includes alisting of expert centres and individual researchers, and provides a library documenting lessons learned through case studies, briefing papers, and a bibliography.
  • NINCH Guide to Good Practice in the Digital Representation and Management of Cultural Heritage MaterialsNational Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage and the Humanities Advanced Technology and Information Institute (HATII).
  • Our Cultural Commonwealth: American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Commission Report on Cyberinfrastructure for the Humanities and Social Sciences.  The term 'cyberinfrastructure' was coined by National Science Foundation (NSF) to describe the new digital research environments in which capabilities of the highest level of computing tools are available to researchers in an interoperable network. The ACLS feels it is important for humanities and social sciences scholars to participate in the the design and construction of the quickly emerging cyberstructure.
  • Text Encoding Initiative (TEI): The TEI Consortium is a non-profit membership organization composed of academic institutions, research projects, and individual scholars from around the world. The consortium collectively develops and maintains a standard for the representation of texts in digital form. Its chief deliverable is a set of Guidelines which specify encoding methods for machine-readable texts, chiefly in the humanities, social sciences and linguistics. TEI also provides a variety of resources and training events for learning TEI, information on projects using the TEI, a bibliography of TEI-related publications, and software developed for or adapted to the TEI.
  • Understanding Metadata: Published by NISO, this concise resource defines metadata, explains the purpose of metadata, and provides an overview of metadata schemes including Dublin Core, TEI and METS, MODS, among others.  The guide also provides an explanation of creating metadata, discusses metadata interoperability and includes a wealth of additional resources.

Grant Writing and Projects

  • DevDH.org: Created to respond to the growing demand for digital humanities training in digital humanities project development, management, and grant writing.  The site has an online repository of training materials, lectures, exemplars, and links that offer best practices to beginner, intermediate, and advanced digital humanists. 

Copyright, Publication & Open Access

Open Access & Author's Rights

Books

Open Access by Peter Suber
ISBN: 9780262517638 

Peter Suber provides an introduction to what open access is and isn’t, how it benefits authors and readers of research, how we pay for it, how it avoids copyright problems, how it has moved from the periphery to the mainstream, and what its future may hold. Distilling a decade of Suber’s influential writing and thinking about open access, this is the indispensable book on the subject for researchers, librarians, administrators, funders, publishers, and policy makers (exerpt from publisher's website).  Open Access received the CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2013.

 

Resources

Articles and Posts Related to Open Access

Sources adapted from UTA's "Open Access" resources on their Digital Humanities Subject Guide. 

Evaluating DH