This is the "Home" page of the "CofC Libraries Discovery Service" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CofC Libraries Discovery Service   Tags: discover, discovery, eds, summon  

How to guide for the College of Charleston Libraries Discovery Service -- search the library catalog and numerous databases all at once.
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/discoveryservice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Start Here

Start Here

 

When should I use the Discovery service?

Discovery is a great place to start your research.  It helps you quickly find relevant resources on a subject, without having to decide which database(s) to search.  The facets allow you to limit your search results in a variety of ways, including date range, source type, subject, and scholarly designation.  The library's catalogued resources are also integrated into the search results.

 

When should I not use the Discovery service?

To take advantage of the richest features of a database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, you may choose to search a specific subject relevant database.  For example, Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, and Medline have powerful features only available in their unique interfaces.

 

Discover CofC Libraries

Find It
Limit Your Results
 

What is the Discovery service?

The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, internet documents, research reports, and much more.  Features of the service include:

  • Single, simple entry point for searching many databases at once, including the CofC Library catalogue
  • Immediate search results
  • Detailed metadata (e.g., author-supplied abstracts,keywords, subjects)
  • Indexing for thousands of journals from publishers such as Sage, Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge
  • Complete library catalog loaded directly into Discovery, with real-time availability checks and daily updates
  • Ability to limit searches by date, source type, subject, content provider, full text availability, scholarly designation and more
  • User-friendly interface based on the familiar EBSCOhost platform
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip