Services
- Interlibrary Loan If we don't have it, we can get it. Free service for CofC community.
- Ask a librarian IM, text, phone, e-mail, telepathy -- we are here to answer your questions.
- Know Your Library PDF brochure outlining facilities and services.
- "My Library" Account Renew books online, view records, etc.
- Library Floor Plan
Literature...
"Literature—the most seductive, the most deceiving, the most dangerous of professions."
--Viscount Morely John, (1838 - 1923)
- Bartleby's Familiar Quotations Classic quotation dictionary... online! Free!
Recommended Resources
- MLA Bibliography
The definitive guide to literary criticism. Articles, books, and chapters in books. From 1920's to the present. Updated 10 times per year. Provides some links to full text articles. - JSTOR
Go to the advanced search and check "language & literature" from the search screen. Remember, JSTOR only offers older articles from a limited, but quality, list of journals. - Periodicals Archive Online Like JSTOR, this one only has older articles but contains some valuable stuff.
- Literature Resource Center
Be careful with this one. It provides online access to canned criticism -- mainly excerpts from actual journal articles and books. Many profs do not allow you to cite this directly but it can lead you to the real stuff. - Academic Search Premier
The old stand by. Be sure to check the box for "Scholarly 'peer reviewed' Journals" to ensure that you get high quality articles.
Where to Look for More...
This guide is designed to bring together all literature related library resources into one place including: articles/library databases, books, encyclopedias, web resources, and more. See tabs above.
Feel free to contact me for help or for any comments regarding this guide.
Subject Guide |
Burton CallicottContact Info:
rm 101 "Reference Office"
843.953.0016
Send Email
Subjects:
English Lit, Environmental Studies, Business
rm 101 "Reference Office"
843.953.0016
Send Email
Subjects:
English Lit, Environmental Studies, Business
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait