Current Print Periodicals

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies 

Last update: Apr 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/filmstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Welcome             Print Page
  
 

Library Services

 

Film Journal of the Month

This journal offers lively and penetrating articles covering the entire field of film studies. Articles include interviews with innovative film- and video-makers, writers, editors, and cinematographers; readable discussion of issues in contemporary film theory; definitive, thoughtful reviews of international, avante garde, national cinemas, and documentaries; and important approaches to film history.

Film Quarterly is available in print from 1954 and on-line full text in various databases since 1958.

 
 

Recommended Starting Resources

MLA Bibliography
Though primarily a literature and linguistics index, this database contains a fair number of references to articles on film.

InfoTrac OneFile(Full Text)
Good place to get film reviews from popular periodicals.

JSTOR (Full Text)
Great for finding reviews of older films. Includes full text coverage of Film Quarterly from 1945 - 2002 and Cinema Journal from 1961 - 2001.

Academic Search Premier (Full Text)
Includes a decent number of film crit periodicals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (Full Text)
Decent source for articles on film.

New York Times (current) (Full Text)
One of the best places to get film reviews.

New York Times (historical) (Full Text)
Find reviews from 1851-2001.

Film Literature Index (1973 - present)
REF PN 1993 F45

Magill's Cinema Annual (1982 - present)
REF PN 1993.3 M34

Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
REF PN 1993.45 C75

Magill's Survey of Cinema
REF PN 1993.45 M3

New York Times Film Reviews (1913 - present)

 

Your Guide

Profile ImageJared Alexander Seay
Contact Info:
Reference Office
953-1428
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait