Admin Sign In 

Reference  Tags: reference encyclopedia dictionary thesaurus calculator how_to_guides maps  

Mostly free versions of classic reference material.
Last update: Sep 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.cofc.edu/reference  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Beyond Wikipedia

Answers Dot Com -- online dictionary, encyclopedia and much more

Visuwords -- graphical dictionary and thesaurus

Soople -- uses Google calculator functions

Intute -- "the Google of Scholarly Material" provides lists of high quality, scholarly sites

 
 

Abbreviations

GovSpeak
Abbreviations.com

Internet Acronym Server (I.A.S.)
Acronym Finder
"the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms."

 

Almanacs, factbooks, & etc.

Infoplease
Online version of classic reference book.
Almanac of Higher Education
published by the National Education Association
Occupational Outlook Handbook
published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Old Farmer's Almanac
Fun!

 

Associations

Associations on the Net -- Internet Public Library
ASAE & the Center for Association Leadership

 

Atlases, maps, gazetteers

Google Maps
Amazing/scary
Google Earth
"Lets you fly anywhere on Earth..."
MapQuest

MapsOnUs
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
University of Texas -- Austin (lots of historic maps online)
U.S. Gazetteer -- U.S. Census Bureau
Trails.com
more than 45,000 Trail Guides and Topo Maps of the entire United States
Color Landform Atlas of the United States
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps -- SC
1884-1923

 

Books

Awards

The Pulitzer Prizes (official site)
The Man Booker Prize
The Costa Book Awards
Previously the Whitbread Award -- British
Amazon's Award Winning Books
Yahoo Book Awards Directory
BookSpot Book Awards

Online Books

Project Gutenberg
Produced by tens of thousands of volunteers -- over 100,000 titles
Bibliomania -- Free online lit and study guides
Bartleby -- Great Books online
Online Texts -- links from the Internet Public Library
Google Books
"Previews" and sometimes entire text of books online
ReadPrint -- free online books library

Bookstores

CofC Bookstore
ABEbookstore -- Advanced Book Exchange (lots of textbooks)
AddAll -- book search and price comparison
BookFinder -- 150 million books
Alibris -- "worlds largest book fair"
Barnes and Noble
Amazon

 

Calculators and converters

Martindale's Calculators On-Line Center -- insane
Soople -- uses Google calculator functions
Online metrics converter -- from Science Made Simple
USA Today Personal Finance Calculators -- i.e. should I refinance?

 

Calendars

Time and date.com
U.S. Federal Holidays
Earth Calendar -- holidays and celebrations around the world
CofC Academic Calendars

 

Colleges and Universities

U.S. Universities by state
College Source -- college catalogs and course descriptions
PhD's.Org -- ranks graduate progams based on your criteria
US News and World Report Best Colleges
US News and World Report Best Graduat Schools
Peterson's -- quality guide for graduate and undergraduate programs

 

Country profiles

Background Notes -- US Dept. of State
World Fact Book -- CIA
Country Profiles -- BBC
InfoNation: View and Compare Country Data -- UN
Country Studies -- Library of Congress

 

Demographics

US Census Bureau
Population Reference Bureau
Historic Census Browser -- 1790 - 1960 -- U of Virginia
SC Statistics -- SCIway
Populatin Research Institute -- Penn State

 

Dictionaries etc.

Merriam-Webster -- dictionary, thesaurus, and more
Roget's International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases
Dictionaries by Language -- Yahoo Directory
OneLook -- dictionary search
Oxford English Dictionary -- for CofC community only
Urban Dictionary -- slang
Online Etymology Dictionary
Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
FOLDOC Free Online Dictionary of Computing
Medical Dictionary -- Medicine.Net

 

E-mail and phone directories

AnyWho -- ATT's toll free numbers
Infospace -- click on "people"
BigBook -- online yellow pages
SwitchBoard -- "your digital directory"
WhoWhere -- people search
Yahoo People Search
InfoBell -- international directory
411.com -- includes reverse phone and address directory
Argali -- requires a download but is supposedly the most complete directory out there

 

Encyclopedias

Answers Dot Com -- online dictionary, encyclopedia and much more
Wikipedia
Infoplease Encyclopedia


the following are accessible by the CofC Community Only:

Encyclopedia Britannica
Gale Virtual Reference Library -- encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. in most major disciplines
Oxford Reference Online -- subject reference books
Reference Universe -- an index to reference books and subject encyclopedias
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

 

Grants

Grants.Gov -- for federal grants
SRA International Grants Web -- Society of Research Adminitrators

 

Hoaxes

Snopes: Urban Legends Reference
Truth or Fiction.com -- "your e-mail reality check"

 

Measurements

Online Conversions.com

 

Medicine and Health

Health Information -- National Institutes of Health
Health Information -- National Library of Medicine
Health Finder.gov -- US Dept. of Health and Human Services
Merck Manual -- Online Medical Library, Home Edition
Medline Plus -- Free version of premier medical database from the National Library of Medicine
American Medical Association -- Info for patients
American Board of Medical Specialties -- Check for certification (free registration req.)
Medline Plus Medical Dictionary
CDC -- Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Mayo Clinic
Medicine Net -- Health and Medical Information

 

Movies

Charleston City Paper -- Click on Arts and Movies for reviews and showtimes
Yahoo Movies
IMDB Internet Movie Database -- deep and wide!
CofC Film Studies Library Guide

 

Museums

Virtual Library Museum Pages
Google Directory -- Museums
Smithsonian
Best of the Web -- Museums

 

Myths and Legends

Bullfinch.org Mythology  -- free online version of classic text
Encyclopedia Mythica

 

Patents

US Patent and Trademark Office
European Patent Office

 

Public Opinion

Gallup Poll -- classic source of public opinion
Polling Report.com
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press

 

Quotations

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations -- classic reference book online
Movie Quotes -- from Internet Movie Database
Internet Public Library -- Quotations

 

Speeches

Speeches that Changed The World -- Biography Online (includes some videos)
The History Place -- Great Speeches
Top 100 Speeches -- American Rhetoric (many with mp3 audio files)
Famous Speeches in History -- search by topic, speaker, and date
Chronological List of Famous Speeches -- Wikipedia

 

Symbols

Symbols.com -- Online Encyclopedia of Western Signs and Ideograms (cool site)
Dictionary of Symbolism

 

Tests

Educational Testing Service -- resources for test takers GRE, PRAXIS, etc)
CPA -- Certified Public Accountant

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBurton Callicott
Contact Info:
rm 101 "Reference Office"
843.953.0016
Send Email

Subjects:
English Lit, Environmental Studies, Business

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait