Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, alumni, faculty and staff, Friends of the Library, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. Face coverings and NEW Cougar Cards, Alumni Cards, FOL cards, or appointment emails are required for entry.

HIST 302: American Revolution (Slater): Home

Course Guide for Dr. Sandra Slater's History 302: History of the American Revolution, 1765-1800

HIST 302: American Revolution

Course Description: The History of the American Revolution began long before 1776. Beginning at the conclusion of the Seven Years War, this class follows the development of a cultural and political consciousness in the original thirteen colonies and how victory in the War of Independence was not a foregone conclusion. Including perspectives from American soldiers, Native Americans, enslaved people, and soldiers, the American Revolution was the prelude to an even larger battle: that of government. This class studies the failed Articles of Confederation and the controversies of the Constitutional Convention, ending in 1800. It is important to understand the American Revolution through the eyes of all participants and witnesses by incorporating primary and secondary sources. Though there will be military history, this is largely a cultural, political, economic, and social history course. 

Research Services and Reading Room Access

Archivist

Profile Photo
Mary Jo Fairchild
Contact:
843-953-1424
Website

Introduction to Archival Research

Archival research involves primary sources held in an archives, a Special Collections library, or other repository. Archival sources can be manuscripts, documents, records (including electronic records), images, artifacts, recorded sound or moving images, or other materials. This guide includes resources and instructions for defining primary sources, developing archival research strategies, locating and citing archival materials, and understanding essential aspects of archival theory and practice. 

About Special Collections

Special Collections Entrance

The Special Collections Department of the College of Charleston was founded to support the teaching and learning mission of the College of Charleston and to promote scholarship on the South Carolina Lowcountry and the broader Atlantic World. It is located on the third floor of the Marlene and Nathan Addlestone Library. Its holdings include over 600 manuscript collections related to the history and culture of the South Carolina Lowcountry, the archives of the College of Charleston, the Spoleto Festival Archives, and more than 40,000 rare books and pamphlets.

Mission
The primary mission of Special Collections is to evaluate, acquire, organize, preserve, and make available regionally significant and/or rare printed and archival materials to support the college curriculum and student, faculty, and patron research.  Special Collections faculty and staff are committed to utilizing a collaborative, multi-faceted approach in support of that mission and are dedicated to employing established best practices to enhance access to our collections.

Vision
Special Collections envisions itself as an incubator for research through the stewardship of and access to the diverse histories of our institution, communities, and beyond. We encourage curiosity, enhance discovery, stimulate critical thinking, and provide innovative and collaborative approaches to scholarship, access, and pedagogy.

Archival Silence