Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Credo is a library database containing digital versions of encyclopedias and other reference works. Think of it as an academic Wikipedia, only curated by librarians instead of the general public.
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution
A three-volume survey of the military aspects of the American Revolutionary War, covering the period 1763-1783. The alphabetically arranged entries include biographies as well as discussions of campaigns and strategy; battles, skirmishes, and naval actions; weaponry; political issues and events; and how the European powers participated in the conflict. For students, historians, and general readers.
The South Carolina Encyclopedia Guide to the American Revolution in South Carolina
The South Carolina Encyclopedia Guide to the American Revolution in South Carolina details the people, places, and struggles that defined the region's prominent role in the path to American liberty from British authority. Nearly 140 battles of the American Revolution were fought in South Carolina, more than in any other colony. As America's first civil war, the revolution pitted Loyalists against partisans and patriots in the fierce combat that established the legacies of figures such as Francis Marion, Nathanael Greene, Peter Horry, Henry and John Laurens, Daniel Morgan, and Andrew Jackson. In addition to profiling these leaders, this guide also chronicles the major combat operations, including the battles of Ninety Six, Cowpens, Camden, Kings Mountain, and Charleston Harbor. Also documented are the vital contributions of African Americans and Native Americans in the struggle and the roles of Revolutionary War heroines such as Kate Barry, Emily Geiger, Rebecca Brewton Motte, and Dorcas Nelson Richardson. The origins of the South Carolina state flag and seal in the war are detailed as well in this treasure trove of fascinating information for students and historians of the American Revolution.
Revolutionary America, 1763-1815: a sourcebook by
Revolutionary America, 1763-1815: a Sourcebook is a collection of dynamic primary sources intended to accompany the second edition of Revolutionary America, 1763-1815: A Political History. While the structure of the collection parallels the textbook, either can be used independently as well. Each chapter contains excerpts of crucial documents from the Revolutionary period, and begins with a brief introduction. A companion website holds the full text of all excerpted documents, as well as links to other valuable online resources. This Sourcebook helps give students a sense of the human experience of that turbulent time, bringing life to the struggle to found the United States. For additional information and classroom resources please visit the Revolutionary America companion website at www.routledge.com/textbooks/revolutionaryamerica.
College Quick Links