Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, alumni, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, PASCAL visiting patrons, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. Cougar Cards, Alumni cards, FOL cards, PASCAL institution IDs, or appointment emails are required for entry. Virtual services are available at answers.library.cofc.edu
Discover CofC Libraries
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Finding and Using eBooks
Learn how to use eBooks, including reading online and downloading in various platforms.
How to Use eBooks
See what you can check out from the library. Lending periods and late fees depend on item.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in world history from ancient times to the present.
How to find and access databases at the College of Charleston Libraries.
View on YouTube
How to find specific journals in electronic and/or print format at the College of Charleston Libraries.
View on YouTube
College Quick Links