Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Search CofC Libraries Discovery Service
Search for books, articles, and more.
Source Types (and where to find them!)
Reference sources can help you find background information on your topic. This is helpful for general understanding, especially if you are new to this topic. These sources can also help you identify some good keywords to use as you research further. Most people know about Wikipedia--for a more scholarly source of background information, try the library database Credo Reference.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Librarian-curated collection of award-winning reference works with extensive subject coverage.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints on thousands of current issues. Includes newspapers and periodicals, images, videos, and audio selections.
Scholarly Articles and Books
Peer-reviewed journal articles and academic books provide in-depth information, generally written by highly-regarded experts. Many initiatives to overcome societal problems are rooted in scholarly research. Can you draw connections between your artifact and scholarly research?
Find these in a number of library databases. The Discovery Service includes results from many (but not all!) of these databases at once. Starting with an Advanced Search is helpful when you are combining two or more search terms/concepts.
- Advanced Discovery Search
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Newspapers, Magazines, and other Media
To fully understand context and impact, you may need to consult media reports on a topic/situation. You can filter newspaper articles in a Discovery search, but it can be more efficient to search newspapers directly. Some library databases are devoted specifically to newspapers.
Post and Courier Collection with Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To access The New York Times, College of Charleston students, faculty and staff must create an account by clicking the link above, searching for and selecting "College of Charleston" from the list, clicking "Create Account" and completing the registration using their CofC email address, and finally, verifying their accounts through the confirmation email sent by The New York Times. Once registered and verified, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times (NYTimes.com), including the archives (dating back to 1851), podcasts, newsletters, videos and more. Faculty and staff will need to re-verify their account annually.
You can learn a lot by searching the web. For example, you may need to visit the website of an organization or person to learn more about context. You can be a power searcher of Google by using the Advanced Search.
Google Advanced Search allows you to search by last update, site or domain, and file type. You can also easily search for and browse archived magazines (ads and all) in Google Books.
Remember, anyone can publish something on the web, so evaluate web sources especially carefully.
Strategies for Reading Laterally
A strategy called SIFT can help you evaluate a source by looking OUTSIDE the source itself.
SIFT stands for:
STOP: Assess what you know about the source. If it is from a creator/site that are unfamiliar to you or if you aren't sure it is reliable, continue with the other steps.
INVESTIGATE: Do some quick research into the website, organization, or creator to learn more about where this information is coming from, and what the purpose/agenda might be.
FIND: Seek out additional, trusted coverage of the same information. Do sources you already know to be reliable back up the information from this source?
TRACE: Is the source you are examining the originator of the information? If it came from somewhere else, trace the claim to the original source. You may find additional, important context.
Find Sources (Online Tutorials)
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Finding, Evaluating and Using Primary Sources (Online Tutorial)
This guide explains and helps you find primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.
Read and Evaluate (Online Tutorial)
This guide provides additional resources for reading and evaluating your sources.
Write and Cite (Online Tutorial)
This guides provides additional information for writing your paper, getting writing help at the Center for Student Learning, and citing your sources.
Scholars Studio Librarian
College Quick Links