Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYSE139: FYSE 139-01: Behind the Curtain (Byars)

Course Guide for FYSE 139-01: Behind the Curtain: Prof. Glenda Byars

FYSE 139:03

Library Video Streaming Databases by Jared Seay

Researching Theatre Practitioners - Finding Background Information

Use a Library Database Like Credo Reference to help you located background information.

 

Use a Library Database Like Credo Reference to help you located background information.

Use a Library Database Like Credo Reference to help you located background information.

Use a Library Database Like Credo Reference to help you located background information.

Use a Library Database Like Credo Reference to help you located background information.

 

Use a Library Database Like Credo Reference to help you located background information.

Find Books and Other Information About Your Practitioner

Use the Library Discovery Service to find books with information about your practitioner.

  • Search your playwright as keyword; be sure to put the name in quotes ("Adolphe Appia").
  • Search your playwright as subject, last name first (Brecht, Bertolt).
  • Watch for other subject headings that might be useful (example: "Martha Graham")
  • Try searching for a specific work ("Lin-Manuel Miranda" and "Hamilton")
  • If you want primary sources, order your search results by year and find items published between the relevant dates.

Using Research Databases to Find Articles, Reviews, etc. About Your Practitioner

Using Research Databases to Find Articles, Reviews, etc. About Your Practitioner

Go to the databases AFTER you've been in the Library Discovery Catalog.  And make it easy on yourself. Simply do the SAME SEARCH you did in the catalog.

Your best databases are: 

Helpful Search Tips:

  • Search these two databases together (and any others that interest you) by selecting More Databases at the top of the screen.
  • Search your playwright as keyword; be sure to put the name in quotes ("Konstantin Stanislavsky").
  • Use the provided terms along the left-hand side of your results screen to help you narrow your results.
  • Narrow by date to find primary sources. There is an easy to use Publication Date limiter on the left side of your results page. 
  • Narrow by type of publication by selecting newspapers.
  • Some articles are available in full-text online. For those that are not, use the library catalog to search the journal’s title. For titles to which we don’t have access, use Interlibrary Loan to obtain a PDF of the article for FREE!

Group Research Projects

This project is to explore more completely the influence of a theatre practitioner.

  • You will need to enlist the help of our librarian to help you discover articles, images and commentary on your topic from a variety of resources.
  • Your presentation will include not only basic biographical and historical information; but should include focus on the legacy and philosophy of the individual or group and what innovations or important contributions they made to live theatrical expression.

Scholars Studio Librarian

Jolanda-Pieta (Joey) van Arnhem M.F.A., M.L.I.S.'s picture
Jolanda-Pieta (Joey) van Arnhem M.F.A., M.L.I.S.
Contact:
Addlestone Library, Room 101
843.953.3604