Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Discover CofC Libraries
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Search Archival Collections at the College of Charleston
ArchivesSpace is a search interface that facilitates discovery of archival and artifact collections from the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture and the Special Collections departments at CofC Libraries. Use the box below to search. You can also browse and search the full database of finding aids and descriptions at http://findingaids.library.cofc.edu/.
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
Start your Research
Citation Only Databases
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to over 1,700 journals covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Also provides provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Subject Specific Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Covers the early history of African American poetry from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
Atla Religion Database with AtlasSerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 490 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries.
Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League This link opens in a new window
Comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records This link opens in a new window
The political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Black Life in America (1976-Today) This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth coverage of the critical issues involved in America's ongoing conversation on race and provides authoritative coverage of many historic changes including Barack Obama's election and the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
ERIC (U.S. Dept. Education) This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature.
Federal Surveillance Of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new window
Provides largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history as well as a window into the development of America's first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
NAACP Papers - Collection 2 This link opens in a new window
The NAACPs Major Campaigns Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
NAACP Papers - Collection 3 This link opens in a new window
The NAACPs Major CampaignsScottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
Republic of New Afrika This link opens in a new window
Provides documentation collected by the FBI through intelligence activities, informants, surveillance, and cooperation with local police departments which chronicles the activities of Republic of New Afrika national and local leaders, power struggles within the organization, its growing militancy, and its affiliations with other Black militant organizations.
HistoryMakers This link opens in a new window
A unique collection that provides an unprecedented and irreplaceable record of African American lives, history, and culture. Includes over 12,000 hours of video oral history interviews covering a variety of topics and fields including the arts, business, civic engagement, education, entertainment, law, medicine, and many more.
African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947 This link opens in a new window
Comprises the files of John P. Davis, Edward Strong, and Revels Cayton.
News and Courier (Charleston, SC) via the Charleston Collection at the Charleston Public Library
Though CofC does not have a subscription to the News and Courier the Charleston County Public Library (CCPL) does. To access these databases, you need to sign up for a CCPL library card by filling out an online form then pick up your library card from the branch you designate on the application. You will need to bring your CofC ID card to get your CCPL library card.
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
New York Times (Historical: 1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2013
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina provides free online access to historical local and regional newspapers originating throughout South Carolina since 1815.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Newspaper.com Library Edition World Collection which contains thousands of historical newspapers from well-known regional and smaller local papers published in the United States, England, Canada, and other countries, with coverage ranging from the late 1600s to the 2000s.
College Quick Links