Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is a library database containing digital versions of encyclopedias and other reference works. Think of it as an academic Wikipedia, only curated by librarians instead of the general public.
Encyclopedia of Africa
The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearlytwo-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship.Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groupsfrom various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism. The Encyclopedia of Africa is sure to become the essential resource in the field.
Encyclopedia of African-American writing five centuries of contribution
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
African American Intellectual History Society
The African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS) is a scholarly organization that aims to foster dialogue about researching, writing, and teaching black thought and culture.
African Studies Association
African Studies Association encourages the production and dissemination of knowledge about Africa, past and present. Based in the United States, the ASA supports understanding of an entire continent in each facet of its political, economic, social, cultural, artistic, scientific, and environmental landscape. Our members include scholars, students, teachers, activists, development professionals, policymakers and donors.
African Studies Association of Africa
The ASAA resulted from extensive discussions among directors of various centres and institutes of African Studies in Africa as well as other scholars. The consultations led to a colloquium hosted by Professor Lungisile Ntsebeza at the Centre for African Studies (CAS), University of Cape Town, October 1-2, 2012. The colloquium was attended by representatives of many institutions including the University of Ghana (Ghana), Kenyatta University (Kenya), University of Botswana (Botswana), University of Pretoria (South Africa), University of Edwardo Mondlane (Mozambique), University of Cape Town (South Africa), Human Science Research Council (South Africa) and the Alternative Information Development Centre (AIDC), a South African NGO based in Cape Town. At this colloquium an interim working group (IWG) or steering committee was constituted to work on the establishment of an African based structure to promote African Studies on the continent. The ASAA was launched on October 25, 2013 at the International Conference on African Studies organised by the Institute of African Studies, University of Ghana (October 24-26, 2013).
Association for Black Women Historians
ABWH was conceived in 1977 when three black women historians, Rosalyn Terborg-Penn, Eleanor Smith, and Eleanor Parker, recognized the need for a specially focused organization within their profession, and they set about recruiting other black women nationwide to discuss launching such a venture.
Association for the Study of African American Life and History
Established on September 9, 1915 by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, we are the Founders of Black History Month and carry forth the work of our founder, the Father of Black History.
We continue his legacy of speaking a fundamental truth to the world–that Africans and peoples of African descent are makers of history and co-workers in what W. E. B. Du Bois called, “The Kingdom of Culture.” ASALH’s mission is to create and disseminate knowledge about Black History, to be, in short, the nexus between the Ivory Tower and the global public. We labor in the service of Blacks and all humanity.
Association for the Study of the Worldwide African Diaspora
ASWAD is a not-for-profit organization of international scholars seeking to further their understanding of Africa and the African Diaspora. We do this through conferences and symposia, as well as through publications. We also look for ways to share our work with students and the general community. All who share these interests are welcome to join ASWAD. By joining you will be informed for all the Associations activities and initiatives, and be eligible to participate in ASWAD conferences and governance.
Association of African American Museums
The Association of African American Museums (AAAM) is a non-profit member organization established to support African and African American focused museums nationally and internationally, as well as the professionals who protect, preserve and interpret African and African American art, history and culture.
Established as the single representative and principal voice of the African American museum movement, the Association seeks to strengthen and advocate for the interests of institutions and individuals committed to the preservation of African-derived cultures.
National Council for Black Studies
National Council for Black Studies exists to promote academic excellence and social responsibility in the discipline of Africana/Black Studies through the production and dissemination of knowledge, professional development and training, and advocacy for social change and social justice.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
State-of-the-art streaming video platform incorporating outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints on thousands of current issues. Includes newspapers and periodicals, images, videos, and audio selections.
Project Muse - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social science.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Worlds most comprehensive international collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
The New York Public Library has made this part of the Schomburg Writers Collection available in digital form. (full text).
The African American Mosaic
A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture.
National Museum of African American History and Culture -- Smithsonian
Information on major Smithsonian programs related to African and African American issues and resources. Provides access to nearly 37,000 historical artifacts, documents, photography, and media.
Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through an aggregating search tool found on umbrasearch.org. Umbrasearch.org brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
College Quick Links