Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
CofC Logo

Using the CofC ArchivesSpace Finding Aid System: Browsing CofC ArchivesSpace

This guide is to assist individuals about how to the ArchivesSpace platform, which is a database of archival collections at the College of the Charleston

""

Browsing

To explore our collections, start with the Browsing Bar at the top of the page. The Browsing Bar features six tabs. These include: 

  • Home - Clicking this will take you to the College of Charleston Libraries Finding Aids System home page.
  • Repositories - Here you can browse collections held by each of our repositories separately. These include the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture and Special Collections.
  • Collections -  Use this tab to browse and view records for all collections from all repositories in our finding aid system. Collections from both the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture and Special Collections are included. 
  • Digital Materials - This tab includes a list of digital objects available online.
  • Subjects - This tab allows you to browse through a list of subjects with which our collections are tagged and indexed.
  • Names - This tab allows you to browse a list of names that are listed in our collections and records. Some names are names of people, while others are names of organizations. 
  • Search - The magnifying glass takes you to a search interface. Here you can enter specific search terms.

Screenshot of ArchivesSpace Browsing Bar featuring seven tabs: home, repositories, collections, digital materials, subjects, names, search icon

Questions? and Comments?

Please contact Special Collections or the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture for help finding collection material and to make appointments to access material.

Special Collections will respond to questions Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM.

The Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture will respond to questions Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM.

Sorting and Filtering

Click on Repositories or Collections to explore lists of all collections. All collections are listed in alphabetical order. 

Sort or Filter, results to create a list of collections targeted to your research interest(s).

To Sort collection results, a drop down box lists the following options:

  • Relevance
  • Title (ascending) - default
  • Title (descending)
  • Year (ascending)
  • Year (descending)

To Filter, use the menu on the far right side of the screen to facet your search by repository, subjects, languages, or names.

Screenshot of Search Results screen with "sort" function at top and "filter" function at right indicated using red text and arrows.

Contact

Location

College Quick Links