Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. NEW Cougar Cards, FOL cards, or appointment emails are required for entry. Face coverings and social distancing are also required. Virtual services for all College Libraries continue to be available at answers.library.cofc.edu.

CofC Libraries Instruction Assessment: Research Consultations

CofC Libraries are committed to ongoing assessment of our instruction services.

Description

Research Consultations are assessed using a 3-item web-based questionnaire that is emailed to the students immediately following their consultations.

The first two items ask the students to rate aspects of their consultation experience.

The third item gives students a space to enter text describing what new things about library research, services, and resources they learned during their consultations.

Responses are gathered using survey software from which a bi-annual report will be made to the Library Instruction Advisory Committee starting in the 2016 Spring semester. Based on the survey results as well as any common themes that arise from individual comments, the LIAC will make recommendations to librarians that provide consultations and will also consider modifying or re-tooling the assessment too.

A picture of the research consultation assessment tool.

January - June 2017 Research Consultation Assessment Report

Between January and June 2017, librarians and archivists provided 430 individual and small group consultations, assisting 441 people. During this time period, we received 33 research consultation feedback surveys, a 7.67% response rate. Targets for Measures 1 and 2 (see below) are greater than 4.5 on a scale of 1 to 5. During this assessment period, the mean score for Measure 1 was 4.91, and the mean score for Measure 2 was 4.91. Assessment targets were met during this period.

 

Measure 1 - The librarian helped me feel confident that we would find good information for my research.

Count

Minimum

Maximum

Mean

33

4

5

4.91


 

Measure 2 - The information the librarian and I found together will help me do well on my assignment.

Count

Minimum

Maximum

Mean

33

4

5

4.91


 

What new things about the library or doing library research did you learn during this research consultation?

Steven was extremely helpful in narrowing down useful sources and helping me with a potential thesis. He taught me a lot about the library database and how to get articles sent from other libraries

this consultation gave me a much better understanding of the available databases, how to navigate them and how to pinpoint data codes.

Learned about a lot of new databases for business information. Thanks Christa!

How do use the different databases.

Databases to look for sources on

Every clarifying question I had about the database was answered!

I learned how to use searching techniques to help find more results, and how to better use the Discover feature.

I become more familiar on how to navigate the various databases that the COFC library has to offer. I also became more familiar with the interlibrary loan system that is available. Overall, this visit was incredibly beneficial. After meeting with Mr. Lewter, I feel 100 times more confident in my abilities to find the resources that I need. His extensive knowledge, expertise, and help were greatly appreciated!!

I learned how to use the library database and how to search for articles and books. He also showed me how to request books if our library does not have them. He was very patient and very helpful!

I learned, primarily, that the library's database and online research options are quite involved. I am a transfer student that has been out of school for 7 years. Brandon was able to break the process down for me in ways that demonstrated and explained the many different search options available. I may have been in the library for hours trying to figure things out on my own but with Brandon's assistance I was well prepared to locate a specific selection as well as complete an assignment for one of my classes that I was absent for. I am grateful to have had his assistance through this process and believe this resource is a great asset to any college student. Thank you.

I didn't even know that research consultations were available. I also learned about a few new databases that are available to us that I had not heard about previously.

Japanese text

Subject search via the classic catalog

Great help with homework assignment!

I learned the difference between primary source and secondary source.

I learned about the different data bases.

It really is all about the wording when you search

How to better navigate the databases website

I learned how to navigate the database system better so I am more comfortable in searching for proper sources. I also learned the organizational structure of these pieces so I can read through the paper easily.

Learning is fun

How to use the library databases

How to use the library databases

I learned how to better cite my source.

I learned to put phrases in quotations and that I can get online periodicals from the ILL