Photo: "Entrance of the Fifty Fifth Massachusetts (colored) Regiment into Charleston" from the Illustrated Newspaper Clippings (1840-1917) Collection, College of Charleston Libraries
LDHI publishes digital exhibits highlighting underrepresented race, class, gender, and labor histories within the Lowcountry region, and in historically interconnected Atlantic World sites. These accessible online exhibits can be viewed anywhere.
A History of Burke High School in Charleston, South Carolina since 1894
A Tribute to Mother Emanuel Church
The Stono Preserve's Changing Landscape
Nat Fuller's Feast: The Life and Legacy of an Enslaved Cook in Charleston
Provides millions of pages of primary sources, spanning the 15th to 21st centuries, with various themes including Borders and Migrations, Gender and Sexuality, Global History and more.
From the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress. Presents 396 pamphlets published from 1822-1909 by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
Includes transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing,for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
Encompasses diverse primary sources including 18th and 19th century newspapers, periodicals, American county histories, and more.
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
This series brings together a wealth of collections spanning two centuries of Britain's colonization, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Societyone of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositoriesthis collection will provide students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, politics and daily life. Featuring more than 140 eighteenth and nineteenth century titles, this unique resource is essential for researching Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and many other aspects of the cultures and societies of the West Indies.
JSTOR offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of primary source 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Brings together all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in world history from ancient times to the present.
Developed in conjunction with ATLA, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials to African American religious life and culture.
