Skip to Main Content
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community and affiliates via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry.
CofC Logo

Subject Research Guide Template: Find Sources

How to use this page:

  1. Add the subject-specific databases to the placeholder box.
    • Limit to a selection of Best Bets- you can also provide a link to the full list of subject databases. 
  2. There is also a placeholder for any Web resources that are relevant and useful for research.
    • If you do not need this box, make sure to delete the placeholder. 
  3. Try to avoid linking to "relevant books" in the library's collection.
  4. For subjects needing to add Primary Source materials, consider one of these options:
    • Add a new box to this page for specific Primary Source databases/websites.
    • If there are many resources, add a new top-level tab. Try to maintain the same format/flow of the template guide!

Finished editing this page? Don't forget to delete this box!

Discover CofC Libraries

The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!

Research Help

Ask Us

Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.

Start your Research

Subject Specific Databases

This is a placeholder box. Here would be a place to add subject-specific databases. 

Preferred: Use a widget to pull in databases assigned to this subject. 

To add an A-Z list widget, go to Add/Reorder and select Media/Widget. Search for an existing widget for your subject, and use that if you find one. If not, go to "Tools" in the LibGuides top toolbar > Widgets > A-Z List. Her you can Filter by your subject, choose to select Best Bets appear first, and whether you want a database description included or not. If you only want to highlight the Best Bets, set your list to display them first and fill in the "Number of Results" to the number of Best Bets available. 

Copy the Embed Code. On your subject guide, go the box for your databases, and create a new Media/Widget. 

Websites

This is a placeholder box. If you know of specific websites that are relevant for research in this subject, this would be a space to add them.

Contact

Location

College Quick Links