Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CofC Logo

German Literature In Translation: LTGR 250: Encyclopedias and More

Using an Encyclopedia

As a Background Source

The purpose of an encyclopedia is to provide basic information about a topic. Within the article, you should encounter important terms, the names of notable people, and background information on the topic. This can help you establish a foundation for your research.

Never Cite a General Encyclopedia Article

This is something that is never done. Never!

Use the Bibliography at the End of an Encyclopedia Article

Sources included are considered classic books and articles on the topic.

 

Encyclopedias and More

Print and Electronic Resources

 

Beolingus Online Dictionary

 

Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary : German-English, English-German
2nd Floor     PF3640 .C69 2005

 

Deutsches Theater-Lexikon : Biographisches und bibliographisches Handbuch

Volumes: Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven


Encyclopedia of German Literature
2nd Floor     PT91 .E53 2000  V.1, V.2

 

History of German Theater 

2nd Floor   PN2657 .G73 2006       

 
Modern Germany : an Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990 / editors, Dieter K. Buse, Juergen C. Doerr.

 

2nd Floor    DD14 .M64 1998  V.1, V.2

 

 

Contact

Location