It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is open to the College of Charleston community via card access. Visitors may access Addlestone Library Monday – Friday, 9am-5pm, and must present a government issued ID and sign in upon entry. Information about access and other locations may be found in this FAQ.
EDFS 201: Foundations of Education (Lloyd): Databases
Course Guide for EDFS 201: Foundations of Education, Fall 2022
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2013
Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
The political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Full text database of important archival material dating back to 1970. Includes the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
The definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
A repository of standardized and structured statistical data including 157 billion data points, 12.6 billion data sets, and over 500 source databases. Users can easily compare and contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations, and customize output views.
Leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block up to the national level. Users can also upload data and customize searches.
While setting up an account is not necessary, College of Charleston faculty, students, and staff may want to create individual accounts in order to save their work.
Covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. Includes periodicals and US Department of Education reports.
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.