HIST 410: Research Seminar in US History (Ingram): Web Resources

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Online library includes digital forms of books, websites, music, games, and more. Also includes digital collections from many American and Canadian libraries and special collections

Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government from ancient times to the 21st century.

Portal to resources from U.S. libraries, archives, and museums. Browse by place, time, subject, or contributing partner.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.

Provides access to digital collections from archives, museums, and special collections across Europe. Also includes a rotating gallery and digital exhibitions.

Presents texts from ancient to modern times. Material touches on the Crusaders, Italian Renaissance, the Scientific Revolution, the Enlightenment, French Revolution, and many other topics.

The Internet History Sourcebooks are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. Topics include Ancient, Medieval and Modern histories. Also presents material grouped by subject: Africa, East Asia, Global, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, Lesbian/Gay, Science and Women's history.

The state resource guide for digital collections at the library of congress with South Carolina-specific content.

Digitized collections of local area repositories. Some collections of interest to those researching African American history.

A living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more from the holdings of the New York Public Library

Full texts of almost 1500 classic works on art, economics, history, law, literature, music, philosophy, political theory, religion, science, sociology, war and peace.

Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. We carry high quality ebooks: Our ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.

Smithsonian Open Access provides images of nearly three million objects in their collections, all of which are free to use. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Umbrasearch.org brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.

Large, well-organized collection of print and visual primary sources from ancient to current times. Material may be browsed by place, time, topic, type of resource, or contributing institution. Operated by the Library of Congress.

Explore photographs, textual, and other records related to American government and history.

The online tool for teaching with documents from the National Archives