Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. NEW Cougar Cards, FOL cards, or appointment emails are required for entry. Face coverings and social distancing are also required. Virtual services for all College Libraries continue to be available at answers.library.cofc.edu.

German Studies: Encyclopedias and More

Using an Encyclopedia

As a Background Source

The purpose of an encyclopedia is to provide basic information about a topic. Within the article, you should encounter important terms, the names of notable people, and background information on the topic. This can help you establish a foundation for your research.

Never Cite an Encyclopedia Article

This is something that is never done. Never!

Use the Bibliography at the End of an Article

Sources included are considered classic books and articles on the topic.

 


Encyclopedias and More

Print and Electronic Resources

 

Concise Oxford-Duden German dictionary : German-English, English-German
 Reference Collection      PF3640 .C69 2005

Encyclopedia of German literature,
Reference Collection     
PT91 .E53 2000  V.1, V.2

Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990 / editors, Dieter K. Buse, Juergen C. Doerr. Reference Collection      DD14 .M64 1998  V.1, V.2

 

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (Full Text) 
  This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.