Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. NEW Cougar Cards, FOL cards, or appointment emails are required for entry.

Studio Art: Find Books

Resources for Studio Art

Browsing for Books by Subject

Listed below are general call number ranges for Studio Art at the Addlestone Library. For a more detailed outline of the following subclasses and the Library of Congress Classification system, please click here.

You can also view the catalog records for each of the books listed below by clicking on the book jackets.



Subclass N- Visual Arts

Subclass NA- Architecture

Subclass NB- Sculpture

Subclass NC- Drawing. Design. Illustration

Subclass ND- Painting

Subclass NE- Print Media

Subclass NK- Decorative arts. Applied arts. Decoration and Ornament

Subclass NX- Arts in general

SubclassTR- Photography

The Halsey Institute Library

You can also find books for your Studio Art research needs at The Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art, at the College of Charleston School of the Arts. 

Aldwyth Installation

Google Book Search

Google Books

Googlebooks search is particularly good for out of print sources.

E-Book Databases

Finding Books in CofC's Special Collections

There are several ways to search for Special Collections books in CofC's catalog:

1. On the Library Homepage, use the Discover search bar. Once you have submitted your search and you are on the Search Results page, use the "Refine Results" toolbar on the left of the screen to narrow the search to resources located in Special Collections (Location > Special Collections).
2. In the Classic Catalog,prior to submitting your search, scroll down to "Add Limits (Optional)" and select Special Collections from the Collection category.
3. On the Special Collections Webpage, use the search bar on the right of the screen to search for Special Collections materials in the library catalog.

Artist's Books

What is an artist's book?

Below is a definition from The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, via the Oxford Art Online database:

artists' books
In the later 1960s and through the 1970s artists frequently turned to the book as a form suited to expressing ideas too complex for a single painting or sculpture. Dianne Vanderlip, to whom the term is credited, organized the exhibition Artists Books at the Moore College of Art, Philadelphia in1967. International in scope, it consisted of works by major contemporary artists. Books could assume sculptural form as a pop-up book, or they might be investigations of the very nature of the book itself.

A book on artist's books in CofC's catalog:

 
The book as instrument : Stéphane Mallarmé, the artist's book, and the transformation of print culture / Anna Sigrídur Arnar.