Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Addlestone Library is accessible only to College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff, Friends of the Library, or those with appointments for services offered in the library. NEW Cougar Cards, FOL cards, or appointment emails are required for entry.

Studio Art: Web Resources

Resources for Studio Art

Searching the Web

Why should I use Web sites?

  • Web sites are a great source of information about organizations and institutions and government generated statistics and reports.
  • They are also useful for comparing popular perceptions to scientific research findings. The free Web contains a vast collection of resources - some worthwhile

How do I find good Web sites?

Start by reviewing the Web Searching Guide for expert advice on the best search engines--both general and specialized.

Of particular note are the "academic web resources" which includes a link to Google Scholar and other search engines that focus on, credible, scholarly information available on the Web.

note: no single search engine comes close to indexing all of the Web. Be sure to search two or three different search engines if you want to be thorough.

Web Resources

19th Century Art Worldwide

American Museum of Photography
(from Choice Outstanding Academic Titles) "A Yahoo 'Pick of the Year' and a Mining Company 'Best of the Net' selection.."

Art Daily

Art Images for College Teaching
Organized by period.

Artcyclopedia

Great Buildings Online
International historical dictionary of architecture and architects, including photographs and 3-D models.

Mother of All Art and Art History Links Pages
A site maintained by the University of Michigan listing art history departments, fine art schools, research resources, image collections and online art, resources for visual collections, art museums, and textual and lingusitic resources.

The National Museum of Women in the Arts
Profiles of select women artists from the Renaissance to the present with bibliographies and listings of exhibition catalogs.

Timeline of Art History
Metropolitan Museum of Art. Includes over 20,000 pages, consisting of around 300 chronological narratives, 750 special topic essays, and 5000 color illustrations of Museum works of art. A very good site.